Classical Studies

Promotes cartography, historical geography, and geographic information science as essential disciplines within the field of ancient studies.

Re-creates the entire world of the Greeks and Romans from the British Isles to the Indian subcontinent and deep into North Africa.
LOCATION: Hatcher Graduate Clark Library Atlas Shelves 2 South ; G 1033 .B3 2000

Utilizes online data for a Geographic Information Systems (GIS) approach to mapping and spatial analysis of the Roman and medieval worlds.

An interactive map of Augustan Rome with a variety of locations and filters. Each location has a description and citations.

A dynamic, interactive, hands-on tool. Contains cataloged information about the map in both written and graphical form.

Pleiades gives scholars, students, and enthusiasts worldwide the ability to use, create, and share historical geographic information about the ancient world in digital form.

This site is dedicated to exploring the Severan Marble Plan of Rome. It presents surviving fragments as well as fragments known only from Renaissance drawings in a fully searchable database, along with a glossary, bibliography, and other information.

A comprehensive archaeological database of Thebes.

Comprises some 13,000 coins struck at Byzantium and at the regional mints of the Byzantine Empire.

Provides an online version of Michael Crawford's 1974 publication Roman Republican Coinage (RRC).

Includes all Greek coins, struck roughly between 650 BC and the time of the Roman conquest, and also the bronze coinages of Greek and other cities under Roman administration.

Contains the coinage of Latin Europe from the fall of the Roman Empire down to the end of hammer-struck coinage during the course of the 17th century.

This is an online database of coins from the Berlin collection.

A tool designed to help in the identification, cataloging, and research of the rich and varied coinage of the Roman Empire.

Includes all coins conventionally identified as Republican or imperial, as well as the silver coins of the imperial provinces and all coins of Roman Alexandria.

An online database of nearly 25,000 Greek coins held in public and private collections in the British Isles.