Research Guides: Classical Studies: Latin Resources

How Do I Find Latin Resources?

Browse this page to find resources such as databases, books, journals, and more related to Latin and Roman culture. Other resources include tips, lists, and primary sources. Please contact the Classical Studies Librarian for more information.

Recommended Latin Resources

Thesaurus Linguae Latinae (TLL) This link opens in a new window
Covers all surviving Latin texts from the earliest times down to AD 600.
Bibliotheca Teubneriana Latina (BTL) This link opens in a new window
Includes Latin texts from Antiquity, Late Antiquity, and medieval and modern eras.
Library of Latin Texts This link opens in a new window
Contains verified Latin texts by over a thousand authors from Antiquity to the modern era.
Patrologia Latina Database (Chadwyck-Healey version) This link opens in a new window
Comprises the works of the early Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216 as well as supplementary materials.

Corpus Inscriptionum Latinarum (CIL)
Includes Latin inscriptions from the entire area of the former Roman empire, arranged by region and by inscription-type.

Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
More than 520 Greek and Latin authors in the original language and in English translation.

How to Find Latin Commentaries

Commentaries offer grammatical, interpretive, and historical notes that can help you understand and translate texts. There are many Latin commentaries in a variety of languages, such as English, French, German, and more. Here are two popular English suggestions:

Recommended Roman Culture Journals

Greece and Rome
Focuses on ancient history, literature, art, archaeology, religion, philosophy, and reception of the ancient world.
Historia : Zeitschrift für alte Geschichte
A peer-reviewed journal focusing on Greek and Roman antiquity. Historia is a multilingual resource, but many of the articles are available in English.
Journal of Roman Archaeology
This journal focuses on Italy and all parts of the Roman world from about 700 B.C. to about A.D. 700.
The Journal of Roman Studies
Peer-reviewed papers on Roman history and Latin literature. Papers on art history and archaeology are also published.
Theoretical Roman Archaeology Journal
An interdisciplinary journal that emphasizes the interpretation of archeological data from the Roman world.

Other Resources Related to Latin

Acta Sanctorum Database This link opens in a new window
A searchable electronic version of materials focusing on the lives of Christian saints.

American Journal of Philology
This journal publishes research in Greek and Roman literature; classic linguistics; and Greek and Roman history, society, religion, and philosophy.
Arethusa
Focuses on literary and cultural studies of the ancient world that combine contemporary theoretical perspectives with traditional approaches to literary and material evidence.
Classical Latin Texts (The Packard Humanities Institute)
This website contains essentially all Latin literary texts written before A.D. 200, as well as some texts selected from later antiquity.
Classical Philology
Covers a broad range of topics, including aspects of the languages, literatures, history, art, philosophy, social life, and religion of ancient Greece and Rome.

Database of Latin Dictionaries This link opens in a new window
Collected, searchable online versions of important Latin dictionaries.

Library of Latin Texts Cross-Search Tool
Provides simultaneous searching of four databases: Library of Latin Texts; Monumenta Germaniae Historica; Aristoteles Latinus Database, and the Archive of Celtic-Latin Literature.

Monumenta Germaniae Historica (Brepols version) This link opens in a new window
Primary sources which document the history of the Germanic regions of medieval Europe, ca. 500-1500.
Past Masters (InteLex version) This link opens in a new window
Full-text multi-lingual editions in the fields of philosophy, history of science, literature, politics, and more.

Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists (TOCS-IN)
Provides the tables of contents of a selection of Classics, Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals, both in text format and through a Web search program.
The Classical Journal
Contains a mix of academic articles and notes on Graeco-Roman antiquity, generally with a literary, historical, pedagogical or cultural focus.
The Classical Quarterly
Publishes research papers and short notes in the fields of classical language, literature, history and philosophy.
Thesaurus Linguae Latinae (TLL) : Open Access
Open Access Version: Covers all surviving Latin texts from the earliest times down to AD 600.
Vergil Project
A resource for students and teachers of Vergil's Aeneid. It offers basic information about grammar, syntax, and diction; several commentaries; help with scansion; and other resources.
Classical Studies Journals at U-M
Complete list of journals related to Classical Studies available at the University of Michigan.
Classical Studies Databases at U-M
Complete list of databases related to Classical Studies available at the University of Michigan.

Last Updated: Nov 20, 2024 9:34 AM

Subjects: Humanities

Tags: ancient greece, ancient rome, greece, greek, ipah, IPAMAA, ipcaa, ipgrh, italy, latin, rome