Informationist
Gurpreet Rana
she/her/hers
Contact:
Global Health Coordinator
Taubman Health Sciences Library
University of Michigan
Taubman Health Sciences Library
University of Michigan
Overview of the Crisis
New or Noteworthy
- Migration Law Database | IOM "The online migration law database draws together migration related instruments and relevant norms regulating migration at the international and regional levels. The following sources of information are being included: relevant international, regional and bilateral treaties; international and regional resolutions, declarations and other instruments. The database will soon also contain relevant and prominent case law."
- Women's Refugee Commisison | Expanding the Availability and Accessibility of Family Planning in Refugee SettingsLessons Learned from Programs in Afghan and Tigrayan Refugee and Host Communities in Pakistan and Sudan
- ACLED | Armed Conflict Location & Events Data An independent, impartial, international non-profit organization collecting data on violent conflict and protest in all countries and territories in the world.
- ARTICLE: Escaping Disaster: Understanding the Drivers and Disparities in Disaster Displacement in the United States | JAN 2025 Kintziger KW, Scales SE. Escaping Disaster: Understanding the Drivers and Disparities in Disaster Displacement in the United States. American Journal of Public Health 115, no. 1 (January 1, 2025): pp. 52-54.
- ARTICLE: Innovative strategies and implementation science approaches for health delivery among migrants in humanitarian settings: A scoping review | DEC 2024 Reynolds CW, Rha JY, Lenselink AM, Asokumar D, Zebib L, et al. (2024) Innovative strategies and implementation science approaches for health delivery among migrants in humanitarian settings: A scoping review. PLOS Global Public Health 4(12): e0003514.
Loading ...
Selected Resources
- UNHCR Global Trends: Forced Displacement Report2023 report release: 13 June 2024
- Think Global Health: Migration Think Global Health is a multi-contributor website that examines the ways in which changes in health are reshaping economies, societies, and the everyday lives of people around the globe
- Global Shelter Cluster: Coordinating Humanitarian Shelter An Inter-Agency Standing Committee coordination mechanism supporting those affected by disasters, internal displacement and conflict. Provides data, country dashboards, planning documents and reports on emergencies and shelter operations.
- IDMC Global Report on Internal Displacement 2024 Source: Internal Displacement Monitoring Centre
- IOM Environment Migration Portal Source: UN Migration
- IOM World Migration Report 2024 [Interactive] Source: UN International Organization for Migration
- Migration Policy Institute An independent, nonpartisan, nonprofit think tank dedicated to the study of the movement of people worldwide.
- OECD iLibrary | International Migration OutlookUM USERS only
Refugee and Migrant Health
- Health and Migration in the Americas: Information Platform Qualitative and quantitative evidence on health and migration and includes data dashboards on policy, legal, and regulatory frameworks.
- WHO | Dashboard of Global Experiences on Refugee and Migrant Health "Dashboard compiles 140 cases and experiences from 63 Member States, documented between 2022 and 2023. It offers a unique, comprehensive overview of global efforts, showcasing the successes and challenges in implementing health policies, systems, and action plans tailored for refugee and migrant populations." Source: WHO, 2024
- Lancet Series on Women’s and Children’s Health in Conflict Settings Published 24 January 2021
- The CHH–Lancet Commission on Health, Conflict, and Forced Displacement: reimagining the humanitarian system Spiegel, Paul B et al. (March 2024). The Lancet, Volume 403, Issue 10433, 1215 - 1217
- GFH2R 2025 Webinar Series: Health Research at the Nexus of Humanitarian Crises and Climate Change A free webinar series from NIH/Fogarty International Center. Free and open to the public.
U.S. Focus
Background: International Agreements
- Migration Law Database | IOM "The online migration law database draws together migration related instruments and relevant norms regulating migration at the international and regional levels. The following sources of information are being included: relevant international, regional and bilateral treaties; international and regional resolutions, declarations and other instruments. The database will soon also contain relevant and prominent case law."
Last Updated: Jan 27, 2025 11:31 AM