This is the "Overview" page of the "N456 Community Health Nursing" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
MLibrary Home | Mirlyn Search Tools MGet It | Ask a Librarian
University of Michigan

N456 Community Health Nursing   Tags: blogging, clinical practice, course_guide, health sciences, medical_education_public_health, nursing, public health, research  

This guide provides resources for students to understand and complete the requirements of the course, including participation in the class blog, the community assessment paper and the aggregate (scholarly) paper.
Last Updated: Sep 18, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.umich.edu/n456 Print Guide RSS Updates

Overview Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Section I: Population and Vital Statistics

"The determinants of health under biology and genetics include data that are individual/family focused or population focused. The public health nurse gathers the information on the individual and family as a client using whatever health assessment tool he or she uses in the particular academic or clinical setting. Pertaining to the population aggregate, data such as age, race, and gender would be considered important to gather."

Truglio-Londrigan, M., & Lewenson, S. (2011). Public health nursing: Practicing population-based care.
Sudbury, Mass: Jones and Bartlett Publishers.

a. Populations

 

Section II: Social Determinants of Health

"Social factors, the next determinant of health to be considered, include social determinants of health and physical determinants or conditions in the environment. Social factors that the public health nurse assess include the client's interactions and connections with family, friends, and others in their community."

Truglio-Londrigan, M., & Lewenson, S. (2011). Public health nursing: Practicing population-based care.
Sudbury, Mass: Jones and Bartlett Publishers.

a. Economic Stability

b. Education

c. Social and Community Context

d. Health and Health Care

e. Neighborhood and Built Environment

Social Determinants of Health model from HealthyPeople.gov

 

Section III: Physical Determinants of Health

"The public health nurse must assess the physical environment at large."

Truglio-Londrigan, M., & Lewenson, S. (2011). Public health nursing: Practicing population-based care.
Sudbury, Mass: Jones and Bartlett Publishers.

a. Physical Determinants

Research Guides

Databases

  • PubMed @ UM
    National Library of Medicine database that covers biomedical literature from 1950 to present.
  • CINAHL Plus with Full Text
    CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) is an index of English-language and selected other-language journal articles about nursing, allied health, biomedicine and healthcare.
  • Embase
  • Scopus
    Multidisciplinary coverage of information from science, social sciences, and arts & humanities.
  • Web of Science Core Collection
    Multidisciplinary coverage representing over 150 disciplines including science, social sciences, and arts & humanities from 1900 to the present.

Contact Information

Profile Image
Taubman Health Sciences Library
Contact Info
1135 E. Catherine, 5726
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-2038
734.763.3071
Send Email

Librarian

Profile Image
Kate Saylor
Logo - Twitter
Contact Info
1135 E. Catherine, SPC 5726
Ann Arbor, Michigan 48109-2038
P: 734.936.1394
F: 734.763.1473
Send Email

Librarian

Profile Image
Gurpreet (Preet) Rana
Contact Info
Global Health Coordinator
Taubman Health Sciences Library
University of Michigan
Send Email

Contact

We welcome your feedback on our web site.

Copyright

Creative Commons

Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 license. For details and exceptions, see the Library Copyright Statement.

©2014, Regents of the University of Michigan

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip