- PubMed (with UM journal links)
PubMed indexes over 4,000 biomedical, nursing, dentistry and related journals, with over 15 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE and related databases. PubMed is produced by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI).
- Global Health
Database includes information on international health, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene. Contains more than 1.2 million records from 1910-present. UM users only
- PopLine (POPulation information onLINE)
Covers family planning technology and programs, fertility, population law/policy, demography, maternal & child health, AIDS and other sexually transmitted diseases, reproductive health programs, women in development, and health care communication.
- Tropical Diseases Bulletin
Worldwide scientific information covering all aspects of tropical diseases, tropical medicine, international health, health in developing countries. Time-span: 1999-present. UM users only.
- BioMed Central: Global Health Gateway
Highlighting the latest BMC open access journal articles and resources in global health.
- U.S. Global Health Policy - Kaiser Foundation
Gateway of resources of data and resources on the U.S. role in global health. Includes news summaries, policy analysis, country data, webcasts, and fact sheets.
- WHO International Clinical Trials Registry Platform
Aims to provide a single searchable database of information about ongoing and completed clinical trials registered around the world in clinical trial registries.
- NLM Malaria Research Resources
U.S. National Library of Medicine's Malara Research Resources. This resource was created to support African scientists and malaria researchers.
- HealthMap: Global Disease Alert Map
Brings together several data sources on current global state of infectious diseases and their effect on human and animal health. Data is aggregated by disease and displayed by location on global and regional maps.
- UN Millennium Development Goals
The eight Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) – which range from halving extreme poverty to halting the spread of HIV/AIDS and providing universal primary education, all by the target date of 2015 – form a blueprint agreed to by all the world’s countries and all the world’s leading development institutions.
- WHO - Millennium Development Goals
Information resources, information and online tools on the Millennium Development Goals from the World Health Organization.
- McGill Library Global Health Resource Wiki
Created to promote collaboration between researchers and clinicians working in the field of global health. Some content limited to McGill University users.
- Natural Standard
An international research collaboration that synthesizes data on complementary and alternative therapies, using a comprehensive methodology with the aim of providing objective information to aid clinicians. Can be useful in investigating cultural medicine.
- PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service)
Database of public affairs and public policy worldwide. Contains books, government documents, statistical directories, research and conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche and Internet material. UM users only.
- Health Policy Reference Center
A database including information relevant to many areas integral to health policy, including: access, administration, economics, planning, reform, insurance, law, research, ethics, public health, and social medicine
- Contemporary Women's Issues
A multidisciplinary, full-text database that brings together relevant content from mainstream periodicals, "gray" literature, and the alternative press focusing on issues and events that influence women's lives in more than 190 countries. UM users only.
- Women's Studies International
Literature of women's studies worldwide. Includes journals, newspapers, books, proceedings and grey literature. UM users only.
- Africa-Wide Information
Databases South African Studies and African Studies include: articles, books, newspapers, government documents, radio and TV broadcasts, pamphlets, and maps. Covers politics, history, economics, development, social issues, law, and culture. UM users only.
- World Bank Open Data
Provides download access to over 2000 indicators from the World Bank data sets including World Development Indicators.
- World Bank eLibrary
Online, fully searchable and browsable collection of over 5,000 World Bank documents. Includes over 2,000 World Bank publications and over 3.200 Policy Research Working Papers, plus each new book and paper as they are published. UM users only.
- Hesperian Health Guides
Hesperian is a not-for-profit publisher of resources for community health workers and marginalized populations around the world. Books, health materials and an image library are available in several languages.
- OECD iLibrary
Online library of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). Includes full-text of all books, papers, 24 periodicals and OECD statistical databases.
- Europa World
Contains detailed political and economic surveys of over 250 countries and territories: recent statistics, directory information, and current analysis. Plus information on over 1,650 international organizations. UM users only.
- Columbia Gazetteer of the World Online
A searchable database of over 165,000 geographical places and features of all kinds. Lists names, descriptions, and characteristics including information on population, agriculture, industry, services, climate, and relief. UM users only.