A collection of documentaries and interviews illustrating the history, theory and practice of art, design and architecture. (UM subscription)
Art and Architecture in Video, an online streaming film collection, delivers over 500 hours of documentaries and interviews illustrating the theory and practice of a variety of art forms and providing the context necessary for critical analysis. Ideal for both undergraduate and graduate courses, the works within this collection offer a dynamic tool to enhance understanding of visual media. The collection spans period and region, including coverage of the Renaissance, Neoclassicism, Romanticism, Modern, and Contemporary Art. In addition to art history and theory, the collection addresses applied topics such as architectural and graphic design. The breadth of coverage makes this collection integral to both scholarship and technique, providing access to the seminal artists and works who continue to inspire the artists, architects, designers and critics of today.
The National Archives multimedia collections include nearly 300,000 reels of motion picture film and more than 200,000 sound and video recordings. For copies, researchers must obtain approval from NARA and contact approved vendor.
Streaming video of interviews with international architects and of visits to notable architectural sites. (UM Subscription)
"OnArchitecture is an online audiovisual service providing a synthetic, deep and detailed panorama of the world's main authors, works, experiences and problematics related to the field of architecture. OnArchitecture's collection features original videos, such as interviews, buildings and installations, all of this enriched with a selection of complementary material - documents and audiovisuals - about the main authors and figures of contemporary architecture."--About page.
From 1935-1967, American theatergoers and television watchers were witness to Time Inc.'s unique and controversial newsreel series. HBO Archives has remastered the series here. (UM Subscription)
The March of Time first aired in March 1931 as a CBS radio series, in which the news of the day was dramatized using professional actors. In 1935 it was adapted for motion picture production and through its final airing in 1951 was one of the most notable newsreel and television series of the early 20th Century. A cross between confrontational journalism and docudrama, The March of Time series was provocative, amusing and sometimes outrageous. The 1938 release of "Inside Nazi Germany" was one of the most controversial films ever shown in American theaters. The most unusual feature of the films was the re-creation or staging of events that had taken place, but had not been photographed by newsreel cameras. The producers argued that they had the same right to clarify news events with staged scenes as a re-write man on a newspaper had with words to make sense out of a reporter's notes. They used professional and amateur actors to impersonate famous people on the screen and then blended the staged scenes with newsreel footage. The films were digitally re-mastered by HBO Archives.