Detailed historical surveys written and edited by major scholars in the field. Includes separate volumes on philosophy and political thought of historical periods from Hellenistic and Late Antiquity through the 20th Century, plus topical histories of Jewish Philosophy, Medical Ethics, etc.
General Encyclopedias of Philosophy
Get thorough background and overviews of topics, philosophers, schools of thought--including lists of the best articles and books to consult for further research.
The classic comprehensive English-language reference source for Western philosophy, updated and expanded to cover all philosophy worldwide.
The classic comprehensive English-language reference source for Western philosophy, updated and expanded to cover all philosophy worldwide. Contains more than 2,100 entries and features about 1,000 biographical entries on major figures in philosophical thought. Included as part of the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
A comprehensive reference resource covering the philosophical canon and philosophy from all continents and all periods.
The Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy is a comprehensive reference resource covering the philosophical canon and philosophy from all continents and all periods. It contains 2,053 entries (from 500 to 19,000 words in length) contributed by 1,264 leading experts in 36 countries.
Provides clear definitions and explanations of all areas of ethics including the topics, movements, arguments, and key figures in normative ethics, metaethics, and practical ethics. Covers the major philosophical, legal and religious traditions.
471 concise articles covering the methodological and theoretical diversity of the cognitive sciences, by leading researchers in philosophy, psychology, linguistics, artificial intelligence and the neurosciences.
Includes many companions and guides for specific sub-fields, philosophers, and key philosophical works. Browse down list to titles that begin with "Blackwell Companion to" (10 titles), "Blackwell Guide to" (23 titles), and "A Companion to" (62 titles).