Research Guides: Philosophy: Find Articles

Use these databases to find philosophy articles, chapters, and books on a particular topic or by a particular person.

Databases focused on philosophy

PhilPapers (with U-M Ann Arbor links to full text)
A comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. Monitors journals in many areas of philosophy, as well as archives and personal webpages. Also accepts articles directly from professional authors, who can provide links or upload copies. (Open Access)
The Philosopher's Index
Indexing and authors' abstracts for books and articles from over 400 journals of philosophy and related interdisciplinary fields, from 1940 to the present.

Philosophy Documentation Center Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides searchable access to the full text of thousands of current, recent, and back issues of 100 philosophy journals.

Deep Blue: Department of Philosophy Research Collection
Publicly accessible online archive of selected works by faculty affiliated with the U-M Philosophy Dept. Includes selected presentations made at U-M by visiting faculty from other institutions, such as Tanner Lectures and Symposia. Part of U-M's institutional repository, Deep Blue.

Multidisciplinary databases that include philosophy

U-M Library Articles Search This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive index of articles available from the library--over a half-billion articles from nearly 100,000 journals, newspapers and magazines, in all subjects, including philosophy, with "Go to item" links to full text. Like Google for the library's online content, but without the ads!
Google Scholar @ U-M (with U-M Ann Arbor MGet It Links) This link opens in a new window
Search engine for scholarly works, with "Availability at UMichigan" links that connect to the "MGet It" service providing links to full text, automated searching of U-M Library catalog, automated completion of requests for delivery services, etc.
Periodicals Index Online This link opens in a new window
Indexing from 1665 through 2000 for 7,000+ humanities and social science journals, including 395 philosophy journals (44 in full text).
PASCAL and FRANCIS This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracts from 1972 to 2014 for books and articles from over 4,300 European-language journals in the humanities and sciences, including philosophy.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Indexing & authors' abstracts for most doctoral dissertations and some masters theses accepted each year in the United States and Canada (since 1861), plus thousands more from Great Britain and Ireland (since 1716), and selected other universities around the world (as far back as 1637). Provides free downloads of the complete text of all U-M dissertations since 1990 and other Big Ten Universities' (CIC) dissertations since 1997 or earlier.

Databases for related fields

PsycInfo (APA) This link opens in a new window
Covers the literature of psychology and adjunct fields, 1887-present.
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers the literature of linguistics and related disciplines, 1973-present.

Citation-tracking databases

Multidisciplinary indexes which permit searching for articles that cite a known author or work. Allows citation trails to be traced forward in time.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Citation tracking goes back to 1900 for sciences, 1975 for humanities.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Citation tracking goes back to 1996 (gradually being extended back to 1970). Sciences are covered more comprehensively than humanities.

More philosophy databases

U-M Library Database List: Philosophy
Links to and information about online databases of all kinds related to philosophy provided by the U-M University Library.

Last Updated: Nov 8, 2024 12:44 PM

Subjects: Humanities

Tags: aesthetics, ethics, logic, metaphysics