Research Guides: Political Economy: In-Depth Background

Online Reference Collections

U-M Library Articles Advanced Search: Format = Reference
To limit your search to articles included in thousands of encyclopedias and other reference works, use the Format box: scroll down and click on "Reference" in addition to entering search terms in the boxes above.

SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window
A searchable collection of e-books, reference books and documentary videos in the social sciences.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Online access to the full text of over 1,000 reference works from Gale, Macmillan, and other publishers.

Oxford Reference Online
Over 400 dictionaries and encyclopedias on all subjects published by Oxford University Press.

International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences This link opens in a new window
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern World This link opens in a new window
Provides information about major world developments from 1750 to the present, with close attention to social, economic, cultural, and political topics.

Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Database of over 30,000 articles from more than 900 handbooks published by OUP across 16 subject areas.

Routledge Handbooks Online
Over 400 handbooks in 18 subject areas, including archaeology, Asian studies, business, classics, communications, criminal justice, economics, education, environment, health, history, law, linguistics, philosophy, politics, psychology, security, sociology, sports and tourism.
Handbooks of Research on International Political Economy
Series of 6 handbooks covering Agriculture & Food, Governance, Migration, Monetary Relations, Production, and Trade.

Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
Detailed historical surveys written and edited by major scholars in the field. Includes separate volumes on political thought of historical periods from Medieval to 20th Century, themed histories of Capitalism, Communism, Slavery, etc., as well as regional and global histories by period.

Last Updated: Dec 6, 2024 1:16 PM