Reference works Online
Encyclopædia of Islam Online (Encyclopaedia of Islam, Second Edition and Encyclopaedia of Islam, THREE)
The electronic version of the Encyclopaedia of Islam contains the entire text of volumes I to XI and Supplement (Volume XII) of the monumental,printed edition. Additional search facilities, enhanced by the inclusion of two original indices (Index of Proper Names, Index of Subjects) and the Supplement enable the user to efficiently search and combine data from a vast corpus of over 12,000 printed pages. The Encyclopaedia also permits searching in both English and Arabic transcription.
Second edition began in 1954, THREE in 2007.
UM Access only
This page also provides access to: Encyclopaedia of Judaism, Encyclopaedia of the Qurʾān, Encyclopedia of Arabic Language and Linguistics, Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
The encyclopedia covers a wide range of topics including anthropology, archaeology, area and international studies, demography, economics, education, environmental sciences, ethics, evolutionary sciences, gender studies, genetics, geography, health, history, law, lingustics, mathematics and computer sciences, media studies, organizational and management studies, philosophy, political science, psychology and psychiatry, public policy, religious studies, science and technology, sociology, statistics, and urban planning.
Coverage of the Middle East and Linguistics is very good, for example, in Area Studies and Language. Articles are written by well-know scholars.
UM Access only
Encyclopedia of Arabic Language and Linguistics
The EALL Online comprehensively covers all aspects of Arabic languages and linguistics. It is interdisciplinary in scope and represents different schools and approaches to be as objective and versatile as possible.
The online edition contains all content of the print edition and new content will be added on a regular basis as of 2010. New articles will be elaborations or updates of themes already discussed in the EALL, or will be new entries that are relevant to the field. The editorship of the dynamic online edition will be in the hands of two new general editors and a largely renewed editorial board. UM Access only
Brockelmann Online consists of both original volumes Geschichte der arabischen Litteratur (GAL) by Carl Brockelmann (1868-1956), as well as the three supplement volumes, including the indexes. It is full-text searchable, making it much easier to consult for researchers and students. The "Brockelmann" has become an indispensible research tool for anyone working on the Islamic world in general and the Middle East in particular.
Brockelmann's Geschichte der arabischen Litteratur offers bio-bibliographic information about works written in Arabic and their authors, with an emphasis on the classical period. The multi-volume reference work is divided in chronologically organized sections, which are subdivided by literary genre. Individual entries typically consist of a biographical section and a list of the author's works in manuscript and print, with references to secondary literature. UM Access only
Guide to Using Carl Brockelmann's Geschichte der arabischen Litteratur
Introduction to Brockelmann' GAL by Jan Just Witkam
Islamic Philosophy Online (This site contains hundreds of full-length books and articles on Islamic philosophy, ranging from the classical texts in the canon of Islamic philosophy to modern works of Muslim philosophy.)
Digital National Security Archive (The Digital National Security Archive contains the most comprehensive set of declassified government documents available. The resource now includes 33 collections consisting of over 80,000 meticulously indexed documents, with more than 500,000 total pages. The collection include: Iran: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1977-1980 (Iran Revolution); Iraqgate: Saddam Hussein, U.S. Policy and the Prelude to the Persian Gulf War, 1980-1994; Terrorism and U.S. Policy, 1968-2002; Terrorism and U.S. Policy, 1968-2002; The National Security Agency: Organization and Operations, 1945-2009; among many others)
Constitutions of the Countries of the World (This database “offers access to 188 country constitutions with extensive expert commentary from leading scholars worldwide. Accurate, original English translations, plus the ability to search for topics across all nations makes Constitutions of the Countries of the World Online a must-have for anyone involved in constitutional or comparative law.” Constitutions is published by Oceana Law Online and distributed by Oxford University Press)
Collections
Middle East Microform Project (MEMP)
The purpose of the Middle East Microform Project (MEMP) is to
cooperatively acquire or produce microform and digital copies of
unique, scarce, rare and unusually bulky and expensive research
material pertaining to the field of Middle Eastern studies; and to
preserve deteriorating printed and manuscript materials of scholarly
value.
The geographic coverage of MEMP includes materials from or on the Arab
countries, Israel, Turkey, Iran, Afghanistan, Central Asia and other
related areas not covered in other cooperative microform projects.
The MEMP collections are part of Center for Research Libraries collections. Free access to MEMP and CRL on line catalogs.
OCLC Online Union Catalog (OLUC), World Cat
Over 62 million records describing books, periodicals, sound recordings, videos, musical scores, archival materials, maps, electronic resources, and much more, in over 400 different languages. Shows what materials are held by over 57,000 libraries worldwide (including most libraries in North America, and the national libraries of Australia and many Western European countries). Incorporates all records from the Research Libraries Group (RLG) Union Catalog (RLIN).
Coverage: Current cumulative file. (Describes library-held materials dated from prehistory to the present.)]
Indexes to articles and full text
ATLA Religion & Serials Database, a comprehensive index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religious studies, with links to online versions of a core collection of over 50 scholarly journals of religious studies.
Time-span: 1949-
UM Access only
FRANCIS (International Humanities and Social Studies)
Formerly: Bulletin signaletique
Type: Article Index
Description: Provides indexing and abstracts of books and articles from over 4,300 European-language journals in the humanities and social sciences--especially religion, history of art, literature, philosophy, and economics.
Time-span: 1984 -
Publisher: Research Libraries Group (RLG)
Creator: Institut de l'Information Scientifique et Technique du Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (INIST-CNRS)
UM Access only
IBZ (International Bibliography of Periodical Literature)
IBZ is a multilingual bibliography that indexes over 8,700 periodicals primarily in the arts, humanities and social sciences. To access, select "Go to Databases," then "Bibliographies," then IBZ. Time-span: 1983- (updated monthly) Stable URL: http://searchtools.lib.umich.edu/V?func=native-link&resource=UMI01534
UM Access only
Indexes materials on Islam, the Middle East, and the entire Muslim world from periodicals, monographs, and other collections in European languages. Includes coverage arts & humanities, history and social sciences topics.
Time-span: 1906- present
UM Access only
Provides full-text access to the archives of core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. Dates of coverage vary by journal title (all are from first issue to most recent 3-5 years).
UM Access only
Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies (EBSCOhost)
Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies, produced by NISC, is a systematic and non-evaluative bibliographic index of research, policy and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa . This database contains more than 413,530 records and coverage spans from 1900 and earlier to present.
UM Access only
Periodicals Archive Online (ProQuest)
Previously part of Periodicals Contents Index Fulltext (PCI, PCIFT)
Type: E-Journal(s)
Description: An online periodical archive that makes the backfiles of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the full text of a growing number of digitized periodicals that have been indexed in its sister database, Periodicals Index Online. Contains over 350 journals, providing access to over 1.2 million articles.
Coverage: Dates of coverage vary by journal title (many are from first issue to 1990 or 1995).
Time-span: - 1995
UM Access only
Periodicals Contents Index Fulltext (ProQuest)
An index to over 14 million articles in more than 3,900 humanities and social science journals, from their first issues through 1995. Covers many older journals not indexed electronically anywhere else. Coverage: Dates of coverage vary by journal title (most are from first issue to 1995). Time-span: - 1995
UM Access only
The Philosopher's Index is a bibliographic database with informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. Publisher: Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA)
Creator: Philosopher's Information Center
Search Hints: ISBNs must be searched as they appear in the record (with or without hyphens).
Subject searches include titles and abstracts in the search.
UM Access only
ProQuest Research Library (ProQuest)
Indexes over 2,300 journals and magazines covering all fields and topics, academic and popular, beginning as early as 1971.
Coverage: Varies by title.
Time-span: 1971 -
UM Access only
Combines three citation indexes--Arts & Humanities, Science Expanded, and Social Sciences--which permit searching for articles that cite a known author or work, as well as searching by subject, author, journal, and author address. Covers 8,400+ journals.
Time-span: 1945 - (1956 - for Social Sciences; 1975 - for Arts & Humanities)
UM Access only
Recent Articles (from ProQuest)

Loading RSS Feed...
Profile |
Jonathan RodgersLOCATION: 110-E Hatcher North
PHONE: 764-7555
Send Email
Subjects:
Near Eastern Studies, Linguistics
New Books

Loading RSS Feed...
Description
Loading content... please wait






Loading content... please wait