Religious Studies

Partial list archive hosted by the Society for Biblical Literature (SBL) and on twitter @bibelorient.

Focus of the project is notice and comment on open access material relating to the ancient world. Successor to Abzu, a guide to networked open access data relevant to the study and public presentation of the Ancient Near East and the Ancient Mediterranean world, founded at the Oriental Institute, University of Chicago in 1994.

Visit PaleoJudaica daily for the latest news on ancient Judaism and the biblical world.

Non-profit web journal devoted to the study of ancient Judaism. In this respect, AJR incorporates scholarship from a wide range of fields, including Hellenistic, Roman, Sasanian, and Persian history, Biblical Studies, ancient Christianity, Rabbinic Judaism, and the Second Temple period

Reference bibliography for academic publications in Theology, Religious Studies and Church History

Specialized bibliographic database of scholarly works relating to all aspects of Ancient Greek, Roman and adjacent civilizations, including: history, art, archaeology, philosophy, religion, mythology, music, science, and scholarly sub-specialties such as numismatics, papyrology, and epigraphy

Articles and bibliographies relevant to the diverse modern academic study of the Bible

Browse and cross-search Brill's online reference works relevant for Biblical studies (among other subjects)

Allows browse and cross-search of Cambridge companion handbooks including those relevant for Biblical studies

Available in print and online.

= Anchor Yale Bible Dictionary. In six volumes.

3rd edition with supplement (1969), now also available online

Brings together all available information regarding the textual history, textual character, translation techniques, manuscripts, and the importance of each textual witness for each book of the Hebrew Bible, including its deutero-canonical scriptures. In addition, it includes articles on the history of research, the editorial histories of the Hebrew Bible, as well as other aspects of text-critical research and its auxiliary fields, or Hilfswissenschaften, such as papyrology, codicology, and linguistics.

Includes online editions of numerous versions of the Bible in many languages. Searchable, online readable, printable, downloadable.

In 86 volumes

Available in print and online (which includes fourth volume published in 2016). Translation, commentary, and bibliographic references for a selection of ancient writings in forming the literary background of the Hebrew Bible. Includes Akkadian, Anatolian, Egyptian, Sumerian, and West Semitic texts.

The Dead Sea Scrolls Electronic Library presents a complete Hebrew transcription and English translation of the Biblical texts, together with high-resolution images.
Contents are identical to that of the Dead Sea Scrolls Electronic Library Biblical Texts CD-ROM, published by Brill and Brigham Young University but adapted to Brill's online platform for reference works.

This portion of the Dead Sea Scrolls Electronic Library presents a complete Hebrew transcription and English translation of the non-Biblical texts, together with high-resolution images.
Contents are identical to that of the Dead Sea Scrolls Electronic Library CD-ROM (published by Brill and Brigham Young University in 2006) but adapted to Brill's online platform for reference works.

Free online digitized virtual library of the Dead Sea Scrolls provided by the Israel Antiquities Authority.

This website provides an access to the article, the palaeographic tables produced using LaTeX, a digital access to the images of the hebrew letters and paleo-hebrew fonts.

Online version of the third edition of Ludwig Koehler and Walter Baumgartner’s Hebrew dictionary ‘The Hebrew and Aramaic Lexicon of the Old Testament,’ widely acclaimed as the most up-to-date dictionary for the Old Testament and related literature in classical Hebrew and Aramaic. Contains the complete vocabulary of the Hebrew Bible, extended with variants from the Oriental and Samaritan textual traditions, the Ben Sira fragments, and the Dead Sea Scrolls.

based upon the lexical work of Ludwig Koehler and Walter Baumgartner /
by William L. Holladay

A Hebrew and English lexicon of the Old Testament : with an appendix containing the Biblical Aramaic, based on the lexicon of William Gesenius as translated by Edward Robinson / edited with constant reference to the Thesaurus of Gesenius as completed by E. Rödiger, and with authorized use of the latest German editions of Gesenius ̓Handwörterbuch über das Alte Testament, by Francis Brown ; with the cooperation of S.R. Driver and Charles A. Briggs.

David J.A. Clines, editor.

David J.A. Clines, editor ; with David M. Stec. Sheffield 2018-

David J. A. Clines, editor

Online version of the third edition of Ludwig Koehler and Walter Baumgartner’s Hebrew dictionary ‘The Hebrew and Aramaic Lexicon of the Old Testament,’ widely acclaimed as the most up-to-date dictionary for the Old Testament and related literature in classical Hebrew and Aramaic. Contains the complete vocabulary of the Hebrew Bible, extended with variants from the Oriental and Samaritan textual traditions, the Ben Sira fragments, and the Dead Sea Scrolls.

"Full text Aramaic portions of the Bible; apparatus that contextually glosses and parses 94% of all vocabulary; an extensive variety of vocabulary and word lists"

Currently includes Biblical Hebrew Texts (A set of Biblical Hebrew texts in Hebrew, translation, and transliteration, with sound included) and Biblical Hebrew for Beginners (an online resource that introduces students to the basics of Biblical Hebrew).

Beginning Biblical Hebrew, Beginning Ugaritic, Beginning Biblical Aramaic, etc.
"MEMRA exists to provide academic instruction in ancient languages to serious students in an online environment. It does not grant degrees or certificates, or award academic credit. MEMRA has been offering courses since 2010. MEMRA courses provide academic content at a level similar to what would be experienced in a college or seminary course. Students are expected to put sufficient time into coursework. Dr. Heiser has created hundreds of videos to guide students in learning to read / translate each language. Students work through grammar, vocabulary, and exercises aided by these videos according to a 52-week schedule. Dr. Heiser answers student questions via posts inside the Classroom or by email."

Die keilalphabetischen Texte aus Ugarit, Ras Ibn Hani und anderen Orten = The Cuneiform alphabetic texts from Ugarit, Ras Ibn Hani and other places = KTU
(ed. Manfried Dietrich, Oswald Loretz, Joaquín Sanmartín) 3rd. enlarged ed. 2013

The Cuneiform alphabetic texts : from Ugarit, Ras Ibn Hani and other places = Keilalphabetischen Texte aus Ugarit = KTU (ed. Manfried Dietrich, Oswald Loretz, Joaquín Sanmartín) 2nd enlarged ed. 1995

Designed for those already familiar with Biblical Hebrew

Brief bibliography following the author's overview of the current state of the field for Ugaritic studies, 2014

In Oxford Research Encyclopedias: Religion, published online 02 March 2015

“The Eran Laor Cartographic Collection is a physical and virtual collection of maps. The heart of the collection comprises ancient maps, atlases and travel books to the Holy Land and as such, it is the largest of its kind in the world.”