Middle Eastern and North African Studies

Provides recommended resources for Judaic Studies and highlights Judaica reference and special materials at the U-M Library and beyond.

Resources for the study of Modern Hebrew at the University of Michigan

Available for free online, this corpus presents a variety of searchable texts in Hebrew. Sources include the Tanach, the Mishnah, nine Israeli newspapers, some early and modern fiction, subtitles from movies, spontaneous, everyday conversations from the the Corpus of Spoken Israeli Hebrew, academic journals, sessions of the Knesset, Wikipedia, and a few others. http://hebrewcorpus.nmelrc.org/

"The Historical Dictionary Project has accumulated texts of all the extant Hebrew compositions from the time of the canonization of the Hebrew Bible until the end of the Geonic period, and large selections of Hebrew literature from the mid-18th century until the founding of the State of Israel. In recent years medieval compositions have begun to be processed into the database. After over fifty years of scholarly work done by scores of experts in Hebrew linguistics, literature and other Judaic Studies, there has emerged a unique treasure of scholarly concordances to Hebrew Literature, in the form of the present database offered to the public in this site."

The Semantics of Ancient Hebrew Database project aims to provide a structured and critical survey of scholarly literature on the vocabulary of classical Hebrew. As it grows, it will offer an in-depth resource to complement traditional dictionaries, and also provide pointers to further research. This international, cooperative project involves a growing number of research centres with coordination provided by Leiden.

Currently includes Biblical Hebrew Texts (A set of Biblical Hebrew texts in Hebrew, translation, and transliteration, with sound included) and Biblical Hebrew for Beginners (an online resource that introduces students to the basics of Biblical Hebrew).

Online version of the third edition of Ludwig Koehler and Walter Baumgartner’s Hebrew dictionary ‘The Hebrew and Aramaic Lexicon of the Old Testament,’ widely acclaimed as the most up-to-date dictionary for the Old Testament and related literature in classical Hebrew and Aramaic. Contains the complete vocabulary of the Hebrew Bible, extended with variants from the Oriental and Samaritan textual traditions, the Ben Sira fragments, and the Dead Sea Scrolls.

Collection of Jewish newspapers published in various countries, languages, and time periods.

Copyright 2012: The Society for Preservation of Hebrew Books. Founded in order to preserve old American Hebrew books that are out of print and/or circulation.

A project of HebrewBooks.org.

"From North Africa and Europe in the west, through the Middle East to China in the east, our collection of Hebrew manuscripts manifests Jewish cultural and social lives spanning a thousand years. Explore some of these newly digitised collection items, examine key themes in our collection, and read expert articles to learn more about Jewish wisdom, culture, history and religion."

This digital collection contains images and supporting descriptions of the approximately 600 objects in the Jewish Heritage Collection in the Special Collections Research Center at the University of Michigan. The descriptions can be searched by keyword (“Anywhere in record”).

3,000 years of Jewish texts in Hebrew and English translation, freely available, and encoded to support study, education and exploration of the intertextuality of the Jewish canon. The Sefaria Library includes an expanding archive of Tanakh, Mishnah, Talmud, Midrash, Halakhah, Kabbalah, Liturgy, Philosophy, Tanaitic, Chasidut, Musar, Responsa, etc. Platform includes various learning and teaching tools. Apps are available for mobile devices / tablets.