Religious Studies

Internationally renowned bibliography of academic publications in the fields of theology, religious sciences, and Church history. It is a gateway to books and articles written in major European languages (English, French, German, Italian, Spanish, Dutch, Portuguese, etc.)

Specialized bibliographic database of scholarly works relating to all aspects of Ancient Greek, Roman and adjacent civilizations,

Various editions in print

Online resources The Dinur Center for Research in Jewish History at Hebrew University of Jerusalem

Online resources related to the study of Second Temple Judaism and Christian, Rabbinic and Islamic origins, from the Enoch Seminar

Non-profit web journal devoted to the study of ancient Judaism. In this respect, AJR incorporates scholarship from a wide range of fields, including Hellenistic, Roman, Sasanian, and Persian history, Biblical Studies, ancient Christianity, Rabbinic Judaism, and the Second Temple period

Seeks to provide readers with content relating to Talmudic news, reviews, culture, currents, and criticism. Toolbox curates a list of websites that aid in the study of Talmud, including sites that contain textual witnesses and books, information on historical realia or surrounding cultures, technology, and other related blogs.

Compiles online texts, manuscripts, books, blogs, tools and more

Offers a unique overview of critical terms in the study of religion(s). Covers a broad spectrum of theoretical topics used in the academic study of religion, including those from adjacent disciplines such as sociology, anthropology, historiography, theology, philology, literary studies, psychology, philosophy, cultural studies, and political sciences.

See especially --- Yair Furstenberg, "Rabbinic Literature"

Seeks to collect and make accessible over the Web all of the previously published inscriptions (and their English translations) of Israel/Palestine from the Persian period through the Islamic conquest (ca. 500 BCE - 640 CE). There are about 15,000 of these inscriptions, written primarily in Hebrew, Aramaic, Greek and Latin, by Jews, Christians, Greeks, and Romans

The Dead Sea Scrolls Electronic Library presents a complete Hebrew transcription and English translation of the Biblical texts, together with high-resolution images.

This portion of the Dead Sea Scrolls Electronic Library presents a complete Hebrew transcription and English translation of the non-Biblical texts, together with high-resolution images.

The Israel Museum welcomes you to the Dead Sea Scrolls Digital Project, allowing users to examine and explore these most ancient manuscripts from Second Temple times at a level of detail never before possible. The website gives users access to searchable, fast-loading, high-resolution images of the scrolls, as well as short explanatory videos and background information on the texts and their history. Five complete scrolls from the Israel Museum have been digitized for the project at this stage and are now accessible online: The Great Isaiah Scroll, The War Scroll, The Commentary on Habakkuk Scroll, The Temple Scroll, and The Community Rule Scroll.

Free online digitized virtual library of the Dead Sea Scrolls provided by the Israel Antiquities Authority.

This website provides an access to the article, the palaeographic tables produced using LaTeX, a digital access to the images of the hebrew letters and paleo-hebrew fonts.

Online version of Flavius Josephus: Translation and Commentary (edited by Steve Mason) with the addition of the Greek text in the form of Niese's editio major: Benedikt Niese, Flavii Josephi opera (7 volumes, Berlin 1885-1895).

The mandate of the Online Critical Pseudepigrapha is to develop and publish electronic editions of the best critical texts of the "Old Testament" Pseudepigrapha and related literature.

Allows searching primary Babylonian Talmud full-text first print editions,Talmud fragments from European book bindings, and at least 50% of relevant Genizah fragments.

Part of the Friedberg Jewish Manuscript Society (FJMS) portal. Freely accessible but registration requested

The William Davidson Talmud is a free digital edition of the Babylonian Talmud with parallel translations, interlinked to major commentaries, biblical citations, Midrash, Halakhah, and an ever-growing library of Jewish texts. As with all of Sefaria, The William Davidson Talmud will continually evolve as we add additional translations, commentaries, and connections.

תורה נביאים וכתובים
בכתיב המסורה מנוקד
לפי הכתר וכתבי היד הקרובים לו

3,000 years of Jewish texts in Hebrew and English translation, freely available, and encoded to support study, education and exploration of the intertextuality of the Jewish canon. The Sefaria Library includes an expanding archive of Tanakh, Mishnah, Talmud, Midrash, Halakhah, Kabbalah, Liturgy, Philosophy, Tanaitic, Chasidut, Musar, Responsa, etc. Platform includes various learning and teaching tools. Apps are available for mobile devices / tablets.

Includes Cairo Genizah site, "Hachi Garsinan" Talmud Bavli Variants site, Judeo-Arabic corpus, Nahum Collection from the Yemenite Genizah, Yad HaRambam site with edition of Maimonides' Mishneh Torah, and Mahadura site with tools for manuscript transcription. Freely accessible but requests registration.

"From North Africa and Europe in the west, through the Middle East to China in the east, our collection of Hebrew manuscripts manifests Jewish cultural and social lives spanning a thousand years. Explore some of these newly digitised collection items, examine key themes in our collection, and read expert articles to learn more about Jewish wisdom, culture, history and religion."

Project site for the development of a born-digital critical edition of the Mishnah, the fundamental rabbinic legal text edited around 200 CE, which serves as a basis for the Talmud.

World's largest electronic collection of Torah literature of its kind. Database includes the Bible and its principal commentaries, the Talmud Bavli and Talmud Yerushalmi with commentaries, Midrash, Zohar, Halachic Law (Rambam, Shulchan Aruch with commentaries), a large Responsa collection of questions and answers ('Shut' in Hebrew), the Talmudic Encyclopedia etc.

Created to promote the study of Jewish liturgy and to enable researchers and students alike to investigate prayer-related rabbinic texts per various rubrics (liturgical categories, historical strata, subject categories)

Volumes available open access on the De Gruyter platform