Middle Eastern and North African Studies

Recommended resources and search tips for finding news in a variety of formats. Includes how to find international newspapers, historical newspapers, articles with a particular viewpoint, how to evaluate sources, and much more.

Selection of databases of international news sources

Compilation of databases of historical newspapers and periodicals

Guide to accessing newspapers in print, microfilm, electronic formats.

Find newspapers by language, place of publication, and whether or not they’re available online.

Listing of selected online news outlets for the Arab world

See Middle East and North Africa tab or browse by country. English.

English summaries, with links to original text as available, of news from 22 Arab countries, Iran, and the Arab media diaspora. Licensed to U-M, authentication required.

The Media Line™ (TML) is a unique non-profit news organization established to enhance and balance media coverage in the Middle East, promote independent reporting in the region, and break down barriers to understanding in the Arab and Israeli journalism communities.

Thousands of online newspapers. See Asian & Middle Eastern newspapers section.

Access to issues from the last 90 days of over 7,000 newspapers and magazines in 60+ languages from over 100 countries worldwide. Includes the same content in the same layout as the print editions of the newspapers and magazines.

Search programming by outlet, show, keywords, presenters, guests, date, country, etc.

"This research guide provides a comprehensive list of the newspaper titles published in the Arab World and diasporas. As important resources on Middle Eastern studies, most of these titles are accessible in the Library’s designated reading rooms." Browse the valuable listings --- "Arab World: Countries and Publications" and "Arabic Newspapers Published in the Diaspora"

Edited volume emerging from a workshop held at the Ninth Mediterranean Research Meeting at the European University Institute in Florence in March 2008

Browse Newspapers by Country / City or State (within the US) from the Center for Research Libraries

Most titles on the list have been digitized by independent projects across the globe and may not have been fully cataloged. It is often difficult to find and access them on the web or through catalogs such as HathiTrust, Gallica, Revues or WorldCat.

Guide to Ottoman local newspapers

Selection of digitized newspapers in Arabic, English and French from countries across the Middle East and North Africa. Coverage mainly late 19th through mid-20th century. Chiefly open access.

Selection of digitized issues (1963-1967) of this important Gazan newspaper

Digital archive for this important Egyptian newspaper with select coverage extending from 1876 to 2014. Included with the East View Global Press Archive.

Digital archive for this important Turkish daily newspaper with coverage from 1924. Included with the East View Global Press Archive.

Digital archive of the official English-language newspaper of Ba’athist Iraq. Included with the East View Global Press Archive.

Digitized selection of issues from 1957, 1958, 1959, 1961, 1962

From the Centre d’études et de documentation économiques, juridiques et sociales, hosted by the Bibliotheca Alexandrina. Covers 40 years of political, cultural and economic aspects in the discourse of modern Egyptian history, spanning the time between the mid 1970’s until 2010, in 800,000 articles taken from 24 daily and weekly Egyptian and Arab paper journals and 11 digital ones. Articles are classified into 15 themes depending on their subject. Interface in Arabic, English, & French

Digital versions of Iranian newspapers and periodicals held by the University of Manchester

Ongoing project compiling a chronology of 19th c periodicals in Arabic or in Arabic and in another language or in Arabic written in a different script. Work in progress

2020 edition of this valuable research tool

Digital archive for this significant publication which, when established in Jerusalem in 1908 by Jurji Habib Hanania (1864-1920), became the first privately owned public daily newspaper in Palestine

From the NLI holdings, digital archive of Arabic periodicals (including newspapers, magazines, journals) published between 1908 and 1948

During [this Endangered Archives Programme] project 24 historical publications, including 13 newspapers and 11 journals and magazines, were converted into digital format. Most of the periodicals were published in Palestine during the British Mandate Period (1917-1948), but among the titles selected for the project there was also a publication from the time of the Ottoman Empire, Al-Jinan (1874), and a few publications from the pre-war period, such as Al-Mahaba (1901), Al Hasna (1909-1912), Tazwir Afkar (1909), and Al-Muqtabas (1908-1916). The project resulted in the digitisation of 24 titles, 6,699 issues and 53,783 pages.

"digital archive of Arabic newspapers and journals primarily from late Ottoman and Mandatory Palestine. The titles include a wide variety of political, cultural, religious and economic viewpoints, and span dailies to quarterly periodicals. This archive is searchable by title and author name, and can be browsed by date, title, city and frequency.
This collection contains 30,706 issues comprising 206,594 pages and 453,604 articles."

Cross search platform of select issues of newspapers around the world, including Al-Ahram, Al-Ba’ath, Baghdad Observer, Cumhuriyet, Al Madina and others from the MENA region. "Encompassing newspapers in more than 30 languages, GPA will ultimately include thousands of titles from across the globe, all presented in full-image and full-text format optimized for scholarly use"

Links to non-US news archives available on the Web. Last partial update: 2008.