String Resources

This is a guide to locating information and materials related to string instruments in the Music Library.

Dissertations & Theses

Below are some electronic resources that will assist you in finding dissertations and theses related to the harp.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
Descriptions, sometimes with full text, of doctoral dissertations & master theses from US, UK, Canada, Ireland, etc.

Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology-Online
DDM-Online contains bibliographic records for completed dissertations and new dissertation topics in the fields of musicology, music theory and ethnomusicology as well as in related musical, scientific and humanistic disciplines.
Access: Open to all users.

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
International bibliography of scholarly writings on music and related disciplines classified by topic. Includes citations and abstracts for articles, dissertations and more.
Access: Limited to authorized UM users (through validated sign-on).
WorldCat
Includes over 179 million citations to books, periodicals, sound recordings, videos, musical scores, archival materials and much more representing the holdings of most libraries in North America and some in Europe.
Access: Limited to authorized UM users (through validated sign-on).

American Harp Society
The largest harp-related membership organization in the world. Publishes the American Harp Journal as well as the AHS Teachers Forum and regional newsletters.
World Harp Congress
An international membership organization founded as an outgrowth of the International Harp Weeks held in The Netherlands and for all interested in the harp.
International Harp Archives (Brigham Young University)
Housing perhaps the largest collection of harp materials in the world, the International Harp Archives at BYU serve as a support center for research dealing with aspects of the harp, its music and harpists. This significant collection of harp music and archival materials includes the archives of the World Harp Congress, the American Harp Society and personal collections from many individual harpists. The archive consists of items ranging from scores, manuscripts and recordings to photographs, correspondence, programs and more.
Harp Spectrum
A non-profit educational organization comprised of harpists and harp fans that gathers and shares information about the harp and harp music. Site includes photos, essays, artwork, images and some audio clips.
The Orchestra: A User's Manual (Harp)
Information about the harp and links to harp-related websites.
American String Teachers Association
A membership organization for string and orchestra teachers.

Oxford Music Online
Site that searches across multiple Oxford reference resources (The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, The Oxford Companion to Music and The Oxford Dictionary of Music) covering all aspects of music, including biographies, definitions of terms, musical examples, lists of works, links to audio and more.
Access: Limited to authorized UM users (through validated sign-on).

Last Updated: Nov 25, 2025 2:15 PM

Subjects: Arts