String Resources

This is a guide to locating information and materials related to string instruments in the Music Library.

Dissertations & Theses

Below are some electronic resources that will assist you in finding dissertations and theses related to the double bass.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
Descriptions, sometimes with full text, of doctoral dissertations & master theses from US, UK, Canada, Ireland, etc.

Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology-Online
DDM-Online contains bibliographic records for completed dissertations and new dissertation topics in the fields of musicology, music theory and ethnomusicology as well as in related musical, scientific and humanistic disciplines.
Access: Open to all users.

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
International bibliography of scholarly writings on music and related disciplines classified by topic. Includes citations and abstracts for articles, dissertations and more.
Access: Limited to authorized UM users (through validated sign-on).
WorldCat
Includes over 179 million citations to books, periodicals, sound recordings, videos, musical scores, archival materials and much more representing the holdings of most libraries in North America and some in Europe.
Access: Limited to authorized UM users (through validated sign-on).

International Society of Bassists
Musical organization for those who teach, study, play, repair, build and are interested in the double bass.
Academic Bass Portal
Research tool for the collection, dissemination and the advancement of the cumulative double bass knowledge. The goal of this portal is to provide the world’s most comprehensive double bass bibliography.
The Orchestra: A User's Manual (Double Bass)
Information about the double bass and links to double bass-related websites.
Bob Gollihur's Double Bass Links and Luthier Directory Project
Includes links to double bass resources and a directory of double bass luthiers around the world.
American String Teachers Association
A membership organization for string and orchestra teachers.

Oxford Music Online
Site that searches across multiple Oxford reference resources (The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, The Oxford Companion to Music and The Oxford Dictionary of Music) covering all aspects of music, including biographies, definitions of terms, musical examples, lists of works, links to audio and more.
Access: Limited to authorized UM users (through validated sign-on).

Last Updated: Nov 25, 2025 2:15 PM

Subjects: Arts