String Resources

This is a guide to locating information and materials related to string instruments in the Music Library.

Dissertations & Theses

Below are some electronic resources that will assist you in finding dissertations and theses related to the cello.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
Descriptions, sometimes with full text, of doctoral dissertations & master theses from US, UK, Canada, Ireland, etc.

Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology-Online
DDM-Online contains bibliographic records for completed dissertations and new dissertation topics in the fields of musicology, music theory and ethnomusicology as well as in related musical, scientific and humanistic disciplines.
Access: Open to all users.

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
International bibliography of scholarly writings on music and related disciplines classified by topic. Includes citations and abstracts for articles, dissertations and more.
Access: Limited to authorized UM users (through validated sign-on).
WorldCat
Includes over 179 million citations to books, periodicals, sound recordings, videos, musical scores, archival materials and much more representing the holdings of most libraries in North America and some in Europe.
Access: Limited to authorized UM users (through validated sign-on).

The Orchestra: A User's Manual (Cello)
Information about the cello and links to cello-related websites.
The Sound Exchange: Discover the Cello
This section of the Philharmonia Orchestra's The Sound Exchange highlights the cello. It includes information about the instrument and Philharmonia cello players demonstrating cello technique.
Internet Cello Society
An international cyber-community of cellists, this site features information ranging from listings of ensembles, festivals, luthiers, competitions and associations to tips on technique and more.
New Directions Cello Association and Festival
NDCA&F is an organization providing a network for the growing field of alternative and non-classical cello. The NDCA&F seeks to encourage interaction among non-classical cellists, promote awareness among all cellists and the musically oriented public about the contributions that cellists are making in many styles of contemporary music.
American String Teachers Association
A membership organization for string and orchestra teachers.

Oxford Music Online
Site that searches across multiple Oxford reference resources (The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, The Oxford Companion to Music and The Oxford Dictionary of Music) covering all aspects of music, including biographies, definitions of terms, musical examples, lists of works, links to audio and more.
Access: Limited to authorized UM users (through validated sign-on).

Last Updated: Nov 25, 2025 2:15 PM

Subjects: Arts