Religious Studies

Learned society and professional association of teachers and research scholars in the field of religion

Kargest international association of scholars who teach and research the variety of fields that make up biblical studies. SBL is an interdisciplinary, humanistic, academic society that includes scholars of history, literature, archaeology, anthropology, theology, and more.

Learned society dedicated to the study of the Qur’an. We hold conferences around the world and publish cutting-edge research and scholarship.

Platform for interdisciplinary and computational research in texts in the Coptic language, particularly the Sahidic dialect.

Online resources related to the study of Second Temple Judaism and Christian, Rabbinic and Islamic origins, from the Enoch Seminar

Initiative focused on "the study of the religious lives of things." Site presents numerous resources including Material Objects Archive, Conversations, Courses and Syllabi, and links to other projects, events, museums and research centers.

"A public scholarship forum, managed out of the The Duke Islamic Studies Center that aims to inform public discourse and policy on Islam and Muslim communities from a variety of perspectives." Includes both original and aggregated content from a variety of sources. A component of the Transcultural Islam Project. (Note that both projects ceased production on June 30, 2016, with the end of the grant)

Pioneering the Recovery of Illegible Text from Ancient Manuscripts Through New Tools in Digital Archaeology

"The Atla Websites on Religion LibGuide is a growing, selective, annotated collection of web resources for the study of religion."

"The Immanent Frame (TIF) publishes interdisciplinary perspectives on secularism, religion, and the public sphere. Featuring invited contributions and original essays, TIF serves as a forum for ongoing exchanges among leading thinkers from the social sciences and humanities."

Published in affiliation with the North American Society for the Study of Religion (NAASR). The Bulletin publishes articles that address religion in general, the history of the field of religious studies, method and theory in the study of religion, and pedagogical practices.

The latest from this online magazine covering critical and timely issues at the intersection of religion, politics, and culture. As of June 2018, a vertical of Rewire.News

Archive for this online magazine covering critical and timely issues at the intersection of religion, politics and culture.

The Religious Studies Project (RSP) is an international collaborative enterprise producing weekly podcasts with leading scholars on the social-scientific study of religion.

Discussions with scholars of religion about their work, and particularly their new books.

"This Ifa textbook was created by Dr. Will Coleman, Associate Professor at the Interdenominational Theological Center, with assistance from Brad Ost, Head of Reference Services and Theological Librarian at the Atlanta University Center Robert W. Woodruff Library. Funding for this project was provided through a generous grant from Atla, Collectors and Connectors in Religion & Theology." An open educational resource (OER)

This site keeps track of leading information facilities in the fields of Buddhism and Buddhist studies.

"HELL-ON-LINE is developing as a comprehensive on-line collection of over 100 visions, tours and descriptions of the infernal otherworld from the cultures of the world: principally from the Hindu, Buddhist, Christian, Zoroastrian, Islamic and Jewish traditions from 2000 BCE to the present."

Information for the study of Islam, Qur'an, hadith, the Sunnah, Shi'ism and Heterodox Movements Sufism and Sufi Poetry Islam in the modern world, militant Islam, jihad, Islamist or extremist Muslims, and terrorism, Islam in Iraq, Muslim women, Islamic art, architecture, music, as well as Islamic history, theology, philosophy, and Arabic and other Islamic languages such as Persian, and religion in general.

"This web site, in existence since 1995, focuses on free (open-access) internet resources ( bibliographies/indexes, library and archive catalogues, dictionaries/encyclopedias, e-texts and journals) supporting the academic study of religion. It is compiled by Cheryl Adams, Library of Congress and Saundra Lipton, University of Calgary Library."

Overview of church history and practice with bibliography.

This site analyzes & highlights important content of religion-related websites to speed research. Links are provided not only to homepages but to major directories & documents within.

"This site is a freely available archive of electronic texts about religion, mythology, legends and folklore, and occult and esoteric topics. Texts are presented in English translation and, where possible, in the original language."

"The Atla Websites on Religion LibGuide is a growing, selective, annotated collection of web resources for the study of religion."