Research Guides: Religious Studies: Reference Sources

Consulting reference works

Reference works (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, manuals, directories, bibliographies, concordances, etc) introduce key concepts.

They typically provide definitions and / or overviews as well as citations for important sources (both primary and secondary) on a particular topic.

They also assist with navigating other sources for your research, such as sacred texts.

Reference works are an excellent place to begin your research on an unfamiliar topic or to answer topical questions that have come up in the course of your research.

Online reference portals

Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
The Cambridge Histories online collection contains up-to-date and authoritative scholarly content on a variety of subjects. The Religion Collection includes 4 titles covering the Bible, Judaism, Christianity, and Islam from Antiquity to the present.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Fully indexed, cross-searchable database of about 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. Includes subject reference works in the humanities, social sciences, and science.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Search the full text of over 100 reference works including a number of titles relevant to the study of religion. Follow the "Religion" subject link to browse a list of titles.

Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Religion
Regularly updated and expanded collection of articles on a wide range of religious studies topics.
Bible Gateway
Includes online editions of numerous versions of the Bible in many languages. Searchable, online readable, printable, downloadable.
Rabbinics : Online Resources for the Study of Rabbinic Literature
Compiles online texts, manuscripts, books, blogs, tools and more
Syriaca.org The Syriac Reference Portal
Digital project for the study of Syriac literature, culture, and history. primary function of Syriaca.org is to be a reference hub for digitally linking research findings. Syriaca.org's publications compile and classify core data for the study of Syriac sources, offer the scholarly community digital tools for freely disseminating that data, and facilitate further research through the creation of shared digital tools and infrastructure
SHARIASource (Harvard Law School)
Platform to house primary sources of Islamic law, organize the people to critically analyze them, and promote research to inform academic and public discourse about Islamic law

Dictionaries, encyclopedias and other reference works

Encyclopedia of Religion This link opens in a new window
Available online and in print (Hatcher Reference Room BL 31 .L461 2005). 1st edition available in print at BL31 .E461 1987 (Hatcher stacks)
Religion Past and Present (RPP) Online This link opens in a new window
Online version of the updated English translation of the 4th edition of the definitive encyclopedia of religion worldwide: the peerless Religion in Geschichte und Gegenwart (RGG).

Vocabulary for the Study of Religion Online
Offers a unique overview of critical terms in the study of religion(s). Covers a broad spectrum of theoretical topics used in the academic study of religion, including those from adjacent disciplines such as sociology, anthropology, historiography, theology, philology, literary studies, psychology, philosophy, cultural studies, and political sciences.
Religions of the world : a comprehensive encyclopedia of beliefs and practices

Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices This link opens in a new window
Presents detailed information on current religious practices around the world, with an emphasis on how religion impacts the daily lives of its followers.
Encyclopedia of Buddhism This link opens in a new window
Available online and in print in the Hatcher Reference Room at BQ 128 .E621 2003

Encyclopaedia Judaica
2nd ed. available online and in print at DS 102.8 .E53 2007 (Hatcher Reference and Shapiro Reference)
Oxford Dictionary of the Jewish Religion
Available in print at BM 50 .O941 1997 (Hatcher Reference Room)
A Concise Companion to the Jewish Religion
Available online at link above and in print at BM 50 .J281 1999 (Hatcher stacks)
Cairo Genizah Bibliography (Cambridge University Library)
Search the Genizah Bibliography by author, keyword or classmark
Cambridge History of the Bible
All three volumes available online and in print at Hatcher Graduate BS 445 .C18 v.1-3
New Cambridge History of the Bible
Available online. Volume 1 From the Beginnings to 600 -- Volume 2 From 600 to 1450 -- Volume 3 From 1450 to 1750 -- Volume 4 From 1750 to the present
Oxford Companion to the Bible
Available online at link above and in print at BS 440 .M4341 1993 (Hatcher Reference Room and Shapiro)
Anchor Yale Bible Commentaries (online)
In 86 volumes
Anchor Yale Bible Dictionary (online)
ie Anchor Bible Dictionary. In six volumes.
Anchor Bible Dictionary
Available in print, Hatcher Reference Room and Shapiro Reference Shelves BS 440 .A541 1992
HarperCollins Bible Dictionary (3rd ed.)
Available in print at Shapiro Reference BS440 .H235 2011. 2nd edition available in print at Hatcher Reference BS 440 .H23711 1996.
Concise Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church (2nd ed.)
Available online at link above.
Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church (3rd rev. ed.)
Available in print at BR 95 .O98 2005 (Hatcher Reference and Shapiro Reference). Earlier editions also available in print.
New Catholic Encyclopedia (2nd ed.)
Available online
New Catholic Encyclopedia Supplement (Jubilee Volume: The Wojtyla Years)
Available online
Gorgias Encyclopedic Dictionary of the Syriac Heritage: Electronic Edition
e-GEDSH is an electronic version of the 2011 edition of the Gorgias Encyclopedic Dictionary of the Syriac Heritage, published by Gorgias Press on behalf of the Beth Mardutho: The Syriac Institute. e-GEDSH is the result of the collaborative efforts of many scholars. The encyclopedia currently holds 622 entries written by 76 contributors. This digital edition is implemented on the Srophé App platform using TEI XML, eXist-db, and linked open data technologies.
Syriac Orthodox Resources
Overview of church history and practice with bibliography.
Claremont Coptic Encyclopedia (CCE)
"...the Claremont Coptic Encyclopedia (CCE) has been gradually posting the articles of the 1991 Coptic Encyclopedia and will be continuously adding updates and new topics from the growing body of scholarship in Coptic studies at worldwide institutions."
Bibliography of the Arabic Bible: A Classified and Annotated History of Scholarship
Research tool which seeks to provide a comprehensive and fully annotated bibliography of text editions and research in the field of Arabic Bible
Encyclopaedia of Islam
First edition (EI), second edition (EI2) and third edition (EIThree) available online through Brill Online Reference Works.

Encyclopaedia of the Qur’ān Online This link opens in a new window
Available online at link above and in print in the Hatcher Reference Room at BP 133 .E53 2001

Interkulturelle Koran-Bibliographie
Available online. Bibliographic compendium of Qur'anic translations, studies, articles and collections in a range of European and non-European languages. Includes citations for 6542 titles.
Oxford Dictionary of Islam
Available online at link above and in print at BP 40 .O951 2003 (Hatcher Reference, Shapiro Reference, Fine Arts Reference)
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World
Available online and in print at DS 35.53 .O951 1995 (Hatcher Stacks or Reference)
Handbook of Islamic Sects and Movements (Brill)
"The Handbook of Islamic Sects and Movements offers a multinational study of Islam, its variants, influences, and neighbouring movements, from a multidisciplinary range of scholars." Open access
Encyclopedia of American Religions (7th ed.)
7th edition of this valuable resource, available online. Numerous earlier editions available in print (mainly in the Hatcher Reference Room at BL 2525 .M4491). 8th edition also available through Gale Virtual Reference Library
Melton's Encyclopedia of American Religions
8th edition of this valuable resource, available online. Numerous earlier editions available in print (mainly in the Hatcher Reference Room at BL 2525 .M4491). 7th edition also available through Gale Virtual Reference Library
Yearbook of American and Canadian Churches
Available in print at BR 10 .Y3 (Hatcher and Buhr), most recent year shelved at Hatcher Reference Desk

Last Updated: Dec 3, 2024 3:37 PM

Subjects: Diversity, Equity, Inclusion & Accessibility, Humanities