Religious Studies

International religious demographic statistics and sources

Statistical information on world religions, Christian denominations, and people groups.

Dates back to 1982. Issues are freely available through the Hathi Trust Digital Library, via the link above.

Available online and in print from Cambridge University Press. May search for research on religious topics.

The Library owns this title dating back to 1944, and most volumes have been scanned and are freely available through the Hathi Trust Digital Library, via the link above.

Available in print in the Reference Room (Hatcher).

Presents sections on religion. For a comparative analysis, may look at volumes from time periods of interest and compare data across time.

Available in print in the Hatcher stacks and Buhr offsite storage.

Available in print in the Hatcher stacks.

The ARIS (American Religious Identification Survey) time series tracks changes in the religious loyalties of the American public. It comprises a set of three large replicate, representative, national surveys of adults in the continental U.S.A. (48 states & DC) in 1990, 2001 and 2008. Survey from 2008 includes the following sections: national statistics on belonging, belief, and behavior; demography of religious traditions; and religious identification and social change between 1990-2008; education. Additional specialized reports are available under Publications. In 2013-2014 two significant college student surveys were conducted.

"The Annual Report to Congress on International Religious Freedom describes the status of religious freedom in each foreign country, government policies violating religious belief and practices of groups, religious denominations, and individuals, and U.S. policies to promote religious freedom around the world. It is submitted in compliance with the International Religious Freedom Act of 1998."

Serves as an archive for datasets supporting the study of religion in the U.S. Also includes tools for online analysis and mapping, as well as information on international religous freedom data (e.g., country reports on religious freedom that include religious adherence for the past decade), national profiles, U.S. congregational membership, U.S. denominations, and more. Use the Measurement Wizard to explore how researchers have attempted to measure concepts across multiple surveys.

"This page contains the Pew Research Center's Religion & Public Life Project's survey datasets which are posted on the Web as quickly as possible after all reporting is complete."

"CARA gets many inquiries from Church agencies and the media about the numbers for vocations, seminary enrollments, priests and vowed religious, parishes, Mass attendance, schools and the Catholic population. Below are some comparative statistics from 1965. Generally, these data reflect the situation at the beginning of the calendar year listed. The sources for this information include The Official Catholic Directory (OCD), the Vatican's Annuarium Statisticum Ecclesiae (ASE), and other CARA research and databases. All data are cross checked as much as possible. For the U.S, the numbers reported here include only figures for those 195 dioceses or eparchies who belong to the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops. This includes the 50 states, the District of Columbia, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and all U.S. military personnel stationed overseas. Entries reading "--" have no data available at this time and "na" is not applicable."

Current projects include pedagogies for interfaith dialogue, new methods for studying congregations, megachurch research, and more.

Project that uses maps to provide data in a way that empowers viewers to develop their own understanding of Islamophobia in the United States, how American Muslims seek to counter Islamophobia, and how anti-Muslim hate effects the nature of those efforts

"MiCA is an archive collection and platform that is uniquely designed to document and share the experiences of Muslims in Canada."

"The Online Spiritual Atlas of China was created by the Center on Religion and Chinese Society (CRCS) at Purdue University to complement the print volume, Atlas of Religion in China: Social and Geographical Contexts, by Fenggang Yang (Brill, 2018)."

Presents statistics by religious tradition, from various sources.

Wiki of research sources for religion as it relates to politics.

Research from the Pew Forum on Religion and Public Life.

Presents questions on ethnocultural characteristics in censuses between 1995 and 2004, letting you know which countries ask questions about religion.

Provides information on religious denominations. "World Values Survey (WVS) is a global research project that explores people’s values and beliefs, their stability or change over time and their impact on social and political development of the societies in different countries of the world."