Recommended Resources
Stop by the Music Library on North Campus! The library, one of the largest collections of music materials in the country, provides books, periodicals, audio material, video, and more.
Databases
-
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full TextOver 60,000 journal articles, books, and dissertation abstracts about the performing arts.
-
Performing Arts Periodicals DatabaseIndexes more than 395 international periodicals, 160 journals, and a million records covering the arts and entertainment industry.
-
Dance in VideoNearly 500 hours of dance productions and documentaries by influential performers and companies from the 20th century.
-
Smithsonian Global SoundStreaming access to 50,000 tracks of traditional and ethnic music, searchable by genre, instrument, place, cultural groups, and others.
-
RILM Abstracts of Music LiteratureAbstracted and indexed bibliographic information covering the area of music, including music conferences from 1865 to the present.
-
Theatre in VideoHundreds of videos of prolific plays and documentaries, including interviews with directors, writers, designers, and actors.
Journals
-
EthnomusicologyContains reviews and articles about ethnomusicology and musicology. (Print available. Call number: ML 1 .E84)
-
Theatre Research InternationalJournal starting in 1975 with articles about theater practices in their local contexts. (Print available. Call number: 822.95 T379)
-
Dance Research JournalJournal focusing on the "historical and critical theory of dance," spanning multiple disciplines. (Print available. Call number: GV 1580 .D175)
-
PAJ: A Journal of Performance ArtsExplores innovative work in the performing arts, specifically "theatre, performance art, dance, video, writing, technology, sound, and music." (Print available. Call number: PN 1560 .P438)
Reference Material
-
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music OnlineContains global music references and ethnomusicology basics with individual reference volumes for major world regions.
-
International Encyclopedia of DanceContains entries written by scholars from fifty countries about all areas of dance, including dance styles, choreography costumes, and music.
-
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and PerformanceCovers the history of theater from around the world, including technical aspects, dramatists, directors, opera, radio and television.
Explore Any Region
Last Updated: Dec 10, 2025 12:21 PM
Subjects: Arts, International Studies