Library Contact
Fe Susan Go
Contact:
Rm. 110-G HHGL-N
920 N University
Phone no. 734-662-7355;
FAX:734-763-6743
920 N University
Phone no. 734-662-7355;
FAX:734-763-6743
734-662-7355
Website
Spotify: Contemporary Aboriginal Australian Music
On This Page
Southeast Asia, Oceania, Australia, & New Zealand Resources
- Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new windowThousands of entries on the humanities and social sciences related to East, Southeast, and South Asia, published from 1971 to the present.
- Southeast Asia DatabasesU-M's collection of images from multiple databases, like the Southeast Asia Art Symposium and Everyday Life in Thailand.
- Bibliography of Performing Arts of Southeast AsiaOngoing bibliography indexing over 6,000 publications on the Southeast Asian performing arts.
- Bibliography of Performing Arts of OceaniaOngoing bibliography indexing nearly 5,000 publications on the performing arts in Oceania.
- Bibliography of Performing Arts of IndonesiaOngoing bibliography indexing over 5,000 Indonesian performing arts publications.
- Asia Traditional Theatre and DanceIntroduces traditional forms of dance and theater with video and photographs, covering historical and performance aspects of each performing art.
- ASEAN Digital LibraryContains books, images, periodicals, and more, from libraries within the Association of Southeast Asian Nations.
- AsianInfoBrief introduction to the types of performing arts in Southeast Asia, sorted by country.
- Southeast Asia Digital LibraryDigitized collection of cultural material from eleven countries in Southeast Asia.
- BlakStageProvides information about contemporary Indigenous Australian playwrights and houses a collection of articles about Australian dramas and theater.
- Music Archive of Monash UniversityMulti-media archive of various performing arts from Indonesia and Southeast Asia, mostly in the form of sound recordings.
- Contemporary Wayang Archive21st century recordings of Java's oldest performances with translations, notes, and explanations.
- Australasian Drama StudiesJournal in English covering theater and drama, with later issues focusing more on non-Western theater. (Print available. Call number: PN 3010 .A91)
- Asian MusicEnglish journal with reviews and articles about Asian music, instruments, and plays, analyzing their history and societal roles. (Print available. Call number: ML 1 .A83)
- Asian Theatre JournalFocuses on Asian "traditional and modern theatrical forms" through articles, plays, translations, reviews, and reports. (Print available. Call number: 822.95 A83)
- Journal of Southeast Asian StudiesJournal starting in 1970, focusing on the humanities and social sciences. (Print available. Call number: DS 501 .J89)
Texts
Remaking Pacific Pasts: History, Memory, and Identity in Contemporary Theater from Oceania by Call Number: PR 9645 .L66 2014 (Hatcher Library)Introduces scripted dramas by Pacific Island playwrights since the late 1960s and their development, overviewing significant works in English, French, local vernaculars, and lingua francas.
Theatre in Southeast Asia by Call Number: 808.2 B819 (Hatcher Library)Describes twenty-five important theatrical forms from eight Southeast Asian countries grouped by "folk, court, popular, or Western theatre," while considering their origins, art, role in society, and "function as a medium of communication."
Landscapes of Indigenous Performance by Call Number: ML 3770 .L31 2005 (Music Library)Collection of essays by Indigenous leaders, educators and non-Indigenous scholars about "how traditional music and dance have responded to colonial control in the past," contemporary cultural performance, and creativity in music.
Austronesian Soundscapes: Performing Arts in Oceania and Southeast Asia by Call Number: ML 3770 .A87 2011 (Music Library)"Offers a comprehensive analysis of traditional and contemporary" music to show the challenges facing Austronesian cultures in three main sections, Madagascar, Oceania, and Southeast Asia.
Moving Oceans by Call Number: GV 1727 .M68 2014 (Music Library)"This volume studies the various experiences, motivations and aims for dance, emerging from the voices of dance professionals" in Oceania and the South Pacific.
Audiovisual Material
- OceaniaCD with eleven tracks of popular and traditional New Zealand music.
- Aboriginal Music from AustraliaLP published in 1977 with recordings and commentary of Aboriginal Australian music.
- Turama: Taʼakoka Dance Troupe, Cook IslandsDocumentary of "Polynesian dances with chants and drumming from the Cook Islands."
- Tuklas SiningForty minute DVD documentary of Philippine performing arts, including architecture, theater, music, literature, cinema, dance, and visual arts.
- Aotearoa: Land of Hope.CD of multicultural songs from across New Zealand, including Maori music, Samoan dance music, and Dutch folk songs.
Departments & Organizations
Last Updated: Jan 29, 2025 11:41 PM
Subjects: Arts, International Studies