Library Contact
Spotify: Pure Sunshine - 50 Old and New African Jams
On This Page
Africa Resources
- Africa Bib This link opens in a new windowMulti-disciplinary bibliographic database providing partial access to over 800 journals, emphasizing journals published in Africa.
- Black Drama: Second Edition This link opens in a new windowOver 1,400 full text plays by playwrights from North America, Africa, and the Caribbean, with additional photos and author information.
- African Journals OnlineMore than 240 open access, Africa-published journals and 150,000 abstracts in a wide range of studies.
- Connecting-AfricaGateway to more than 6,900 publications, 1,300 experts, and 890 organizations relating to African studies.
- International Library of African Music Photo ArchiveMore than 1,000 images of African instruments and musical performances, searchable by country.
- Africa FocusOver "3000 slides, 500 photographs, and 50 hours of sounds" collected by University of Wisconsin on all aspects of culture.
- African Studies CollectionMaps, photos, sound recordings, documents, and other primary and secondary materials from Africa digitized by the University of Wisconsin.
- ILAM Digital Sound ArchiveDigitized archive of sub-saharan African music from Hugh Tracey's fieldwork during the 1930s to the 1950s.
- Music in AfricaListen to new and trending music from Africa.
- internet library sub-saharan africaSearches for literature and internet resources relating to African Studies.
- African MusicJournal published by the International Library of African Music focusing on African music and culture. (Print available. Call number: ML 5 .A26)
- Muziki: Journal of Music Research in AfricaIncludes articles about musical theory and practice in Africa and beyond, with reviews of books, music, and recordings. (Print available. Call number: ML 350 .M89)
- Journal of African StudiesQuarterly, interdisciplinary journal with performing arts contents focusing on song and music from across Africa. (Print available. Call number: DT 1 .J865)
- South African Theatre JournalJournal of book reviews, play texts, theater reports, essays, and more, about "the history, theory and practice of the performing arts," focusing on Southern Africa.
- South African Music StudiesResearch journal about South African musicians and musical genres and their role in society.
Texts
The African Imagination in Music by Call Number: ML 3760 .A42 2016 (Shapiro Library)Music scholar Kofi Agawu introduces the major dimensions of African music, its values, traditions, structural elements, instruments, and performative techniques.
A History of Theatre in Africa by Call Number: PN 2969 .H571 2004 (Hatcher Library)Offers a broad history of African theater starting from its origins with storytellers to today's popular entertainers, organized by region, like East Africa, North Africa, Francophone Africa, and Portuguese-speaking Africa.
Trends in Twenty-First Century African Theatre and Performance by Call Number: PL 8010.5 .T746 2011 (Hatcher Library)"Collection of regionally focused articles on African theatre and performance" describing the directions they take in the 21st century. Contains sections on general trends, community theater and performance, and playwrights.
Mask of the Spring Water: Dance as a Source of Culture in Africa by Call Number: GV 1713 .S84 A34513 2010 (Hatcher Library)Documentation of traditional dance from various societies in East, West, and Central Africa during the 1960s and 1970s, showing the masks, music, and social interaction of dance.
Music of Sub-Saharan Africa by Call Number: ML 120 .A35 G72 2018 (Music Library)Bibliography covering general works, musical instruments, regional studies, African music abroad, and critical studies.
Audiovisual Material
- Leo Sarkisian Voice of America African Music Collection360 selected CDs from Leo Sarkisian's 50 years of travel across Africa, where he "interviewed scores of musicians and compiled" recordings of traditional and popular music.
- The JVC/Smithsonian Folkways Video Anthology of Music and Dance of AfricaA three-part film project capturing local performance styles of folk music and dance traditions across Africa.
- Africa: Drum, Chant & Instrumental MusicAn album of traditional music sung and performed by local musicians in Niger, Mali, and Upper Volta.
Related Research Guides
Departments & Organizations
Last Updated: Nov 19, 2024 1:46 PM
Subjects: Arts, International Studies