Research Guides: Linguistics Resources: Reference Works

Keeping Current

Language & Linguistics Compass
Commissioned review articles that survey current research across the field
Annual Review of Linguistics
Substantial review articles that track significant developments in the field of linguistics

Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
Books, journals and reference works on social science research methods. Includes the notable "little green book" series (Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences) and the "little blue book" series (Qualitative Research Methods)

Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Linguistics
New, continuously updated encyclopedia covering all aspects of the field of linguistics.
more...less...
Articles are short and intended to be read in 30 minutes or less.
Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics
Second edition of ELL, the most comprehensive encyclopedia of linguistics.
Electronic & paper. Paper: Grad Reference P 29 .E481 2006 (14 vols)
more...less...
Electronic: access for UM community only
Cambridge Handbooks of Linguistics
Handbooks on sub-fields such as typology, morphology, semantics, language acquisition and psycholinguistics.

Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Database of research review articles in the Oxford Handbooks series. Includes handbooks to linguistics, literature, philosophy and psychology. Includes all titles published in electronic format 2012-present, all subjects except for law.

Routledge Handbooks Online
Includes Routledge Handbooks, Companions and International Handbooks, including over 60 on linguistics and language topics.
Handbook of Pidgin and Creole Studies
One of the Blackwell Handbooks in Linguistics. Edited by Kouwenberg & Singler, published 2008.
Handbook of Phonological Theory
Recent developments in phonology, and the implications of these within linguistic theory and related disciplines. 2nd edition. Wiley-Blackwell, 2011.
more...less...
John Goldsmith, Jason Riggle, Alan C. L. Yu, eds.
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences
Comprehensive encyclopedia for the social sciences in 26 volumes.
Electronic & paper. Paper: Grad Ref Room & Shapiro H 41 .I581 2001
more...less...
Electronic for University of Michigan affiliates only
Encyclopedia of Applied Linguistics
2013 encyclopedia from Wiley, edited by Carol Chapelle. Originally in 10 volumes.

MIT Encyclopedia of the Cognitive Sciences This link opens in a new window
Covers the methodological and theoretical diversity of the cognitive sciences
DARE: Dictionary of American Regional English This link opens in a new window
DARE documents regional aspects of English language usage in the U.S., including variations in words, phrases, and pronunciation. You to browse by region using the interactive map. You can also create your own maps based on the extensive survey data and hear audio clips from over 4,000 interview recordings.

Indo-European Etymological Dictionaries Online
Cross-searchable collection of 11 dictionaries on IE with 20,000 entries in 150 languages.
Ethnologue: Languages of the World
Encyclopedia of the world's 7,000 living languages. Entries include an estimate of the number of speakers, alternate names, dialects, classification and language maps. Links to OLAC Open Language Archives for further description.
more...less...
Includes Language Status scale of endangered status
https://www-ethnologue-com.proxy.lib.umich.edu/about/language-status
Treasury of Linguistic Maps Online
Over 5,000 high-resolution maps of linguistic distribution, selected from atlases and monographs. From De Gruyter.