Research Guides: Linguistics Resources: Language Diversity

Related Guides

Finding Archives and Manuscripts
by Sigrid Anderson Last Updated Jan 12, 2024 726 views this year

Indigenous Resources
by Charles Ransom Last Updated Oct 26, 2023 2178 views this year

United States History
by Maura Seale Last Updated Mar 14, 2024 292 views this year

Cultural Survival
Has a program for the protection of endangered languages. Also publishes in this area and acts as a clearinghouse of information
SIL International
Reports on endangered languages of the world. Publishes Ethnologue reference books.
more...less...
Formerly called the Summer Institute in Linguistics. "A faith-based non-profit organization committed to serving language communities worldwide as they build capacity for sustainable language development." -- SIL
Has investigated over 2500 languages worldwide.
ELAR Endangered Languages Archive
SOAS digital repository. All materials are open access but require personal registration
OLAC Open Language Archives
Establishes archiving standards and provides a network of repositories for language documentation

Endangered Languages Project
Language map with video samples, descriptions and bibliographies for over 3000 languages. Free.
more...less...
Based on ELCat, the Catalogue of Endangered Languages, produced by the University of Hawai'i at Manoa and The Linguist List at Eastern Michigan University
Treasury of Linguistic Maps Online
Over 5,000 high-resolution maps of linguistic distribution, selected from atlases and monographs. From De Gruyter.
UNESCO Atlas of the World's Languages in Danger
Interactive atlas of languages ranging from vulnerable to extinct. Free

ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new window
Database of archival collections, both physical and digital. To find items on language documentation search for Language and Languages - Documentation. Summary View allows you to select a particular language or language family. For indigenous languages of North America search on 'Indians of North America'.

Deep Blue Data
U-M's institutional data repository. Includes linguistic fieldwork files collected by U-M researchers.
Newberry Library American Indian and Indigenous Studies Collection
The Edward E. Ayer Collection is a large archive for American Indian and Indigenous studies. Guides, research center and programming. Much of the digital collections can also be found in Adam Matthew Digital's American Indian Histories & Culture.
Protocols for Native American Archival Materials
Best practices for culturally responsive care and use of Native American archival and documentary material held by non-tribal organizations.