Linguistics Resources

Covers linguistics and related disciplines such as language acquisition, bilingualism, and artificial intelligence.
Time-span 1973 -
Limited to authorized UM users

Index to international critical journal articles, books and dissertations on literature, languages, linguistics and folklore. Time-span: 1925 -
Limited to authorized UM users

Combines three citation indexes--Arts & Humanities, Science, and Social Sciences--which permit searching for articles that cite a known author or work, as well as searching by subject, author, journal, and author address. Covers over 12,000 journals, as well as scholarly books and conference proceedings.

The MIT CogNet Library is a growing, searchable collection of books, journals, reference works and conference materials on brain and cognitive science.

Index to international articles, books, conferences, and dissertations in the fields of applied and theoretical linguistics. Approximately 10,000 citations added annually.
Time-span: 1971- present

Combined search of 15 indexes that cover literature and linguistics

Provides indexing and abstracts of books and articles from over 4,300 European-language journals in the humanities and social sciences--especially religion, history of art, literature, philosophy, and economics.
Time-span: 1972 -

A comprehensive, international index to the literature of anthropology and archaeology; it combines two major indexes: Harvard University's Anthropological Literature database and the United Kingdom's Anthropological Index. Covers the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, and material culture. 19th century -

A bibliography and research database for languages spoken in Australia and New Zealand. Covers indigenous European, Asian and contact languages. Includes dictionaries, grammars and glossaries as well as journal articles. Materials covered are from 1788-present.

Online version (1985-)of the printed bibliography (1957-). BDSL covers all aspects of secondary literature in the areas of German language, linguistics, and literary studies. Contains 499,000 bibliographic records through 2020.
Limited to UM users

Covers over 500 journals in the fields of mass media and communications.

Combined search of 79 ProQuest databases including: ABI/INFORM Dateline, ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, Alt-Press Watch, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, OxResearch, ProQuest Dissertations and Theses, ProQuest Research Library, and the Snapshots International Series.

Searches for scholarly documents on the web, with the added feature of "Availability at UM" links.

Full-text access to scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences. Most journals have the first volume onward, but do not include current issues.

Index to the contents of more than 2,000 humanities and social science journals, from their first issues through 1995/96. Includes many 19th and early-to-mid 20th century titles not indexed electronically anywhere else.

An archive of journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences selected from Periodicals Index Online.