Combined access to 80+ ProQuest databases, including full text journals, historical newspapers and corporate reports, and specialized indexes for many different fields, including: Arts, Business, Engineering, Health Sciences, History, Humanities, Literature & Language, News & Current Events, Science, Social Sciences, and Dissertations & Theses. Among the included databases: ABI/INFORM, American Periodicals Series (APS), Environmental Science & Pollution Management, Ethnic NewsWatch, OxResearch, ProQuest Dissertations and Theses, ProQuest Historical Annual Reports, ProQuest Historical Newspapers, ProQuest Research Library, ProQuest Technology Collection, and Zoological Record Plus. Includes all databases previously accessed on the CSA (Cambridge Scientific Abstracts) Illumina interface platform.
Seven citation indexes include: Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED); Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI); Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI); Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science (CPCI-S); Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Sciences & Humanities (CPCI-SSH); Book Citation Index - Science (BKCI-S); Book Citation Index - Social Sciences & Humanities (BKCI-SSH)
Provides searchable online access to the 16th (2010) and 15th (2003) editions of the standard style manual, as well as a downloadable facsimile of the first edition (1906). Also includes Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide, and Chicago Style Q&A (editors' answers to questions submitted by readers, updated monthly).
Largest, most comprehensive American dictionary. Includes Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus.
Provides 700,000 definitions of 476,000 words, including 5,000 new entries added since the publication of the most recent print edition, plus: etymologies; illustrative quotations from skilled writers and additional example sentences to clarify meanings; synonyms and antonyms; usage guidance for commonly misused words; nearly 1,000 pictorial illustrations; audio pronunciations; and expanded & advanced search features including access to the Merriam-Webster citation files Incorporates other Merriam-Webster reference works including the Collegiate® Dictionary, Thesaurus, and Encyclopedia; Medical, Spanish-English, and French-English Dictionaries.
Most complete, authoritative dictionary of the English language, documenting past as well as present meanings and uses. Includes Historical Thesaurus.
New web version of the most complete and authoritative dictionary of the English language. Provides definitions, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words, past and present, from across the English-speaking world, with over 3 million quotations documenting how and when they have been used over time. Also incorporates the Historical Thesaurus of the OED, where words are arranged by their meaning rather than alphabetically.
Encyclopaedia Britannica's latest article database (including hundreds of articles not found in the print edition), Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, and the Britannica Book of the Year (1994- ), with thousands of web links selected by editors.
Combined access to hundreds of encyclopedias from Gale, Macmillan, and other publishers.
Provides online access to the complete full text of over 100 reference works from Gale, Macmillan, and other publishers. Includes: African American Almanac, Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography, Datapedia of the U.S., Dictionary of American History, Encyclopedia Judaica, Encylopedia of Religion, Encyclopedia of Philosophy, Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia, International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, World Press Encyclopedia, and many more. Articles can be displayed in HTML with active hyperlinks, or as PDF facsimiles of pages from the original print edition. Individual titles are arranged by subject category (see keywords below), and also appear in Search Tools and Mirlyn separately. Searching can be done within an individual title, or across the entire collection.
News & Events
Search full text of thousands of newspapers, magazines, blogs, broadcast transcripts, etc.
Full text of over 600 U.S. newspapers and over 260 English language newspapers from other countries worldwide. Includes Detroit News (1999- ) and many other Michigan newspapers, Chicago Sun-Times, The Times (London), etc. Includes text only--no photos, charts or ads.
Contains biographies on 528,000+ people from around the world and throughout history.
Contains more than 600,000 biographies on more than 528,000 people from around the world and throughout history. Combines more than 135 frequently consulted Gale biographical sources with more than 325 full-text periodicals and journals, more than 27,000 portraits, and thousands of Recent News briefs on high-interest individuals.
Background profiles of over 1.4 million persons of note, past and present.
Online access to profiles on over 1.4 million of the most accomplished individuals from all fields of endeavor including: government, business, science & technology, the arts, entertainment and sports. Combines entries from 24 Who's Who directories, including 110,000 brief biographies from Who Was Who in American History (1607-1985). Provides seachable sub-files for: Who's Who in America, Who's Who in the World, Who's Who in American History, Who's Who in American Art, Who's Who in American Politics.
White- and yellow-pages directory listings for all U.S. residences and businesses, with additional information.
White- and yellow-pages directory listings for all U.S. residences and businesses, supplemented with government information from the Bureau of the Census, etc. Searchable by ZIP code, SIC (Standardized Industrial Classification) codes, number of employees, etc. as well as by name, address, and telephone number.
Single largest database of public and private company information, including over 40 million firms worldwide.
A replacement for the Amadeus database, Orbis has information about 40 million companies, including 18 million European companies from 46 countries, 16 million US and Canadian companies, 6.5 million South and Central American companies, 1.3 million Japanese companies, 300,000 Chinese companies, and 90,000 African companies. Orbis includes information about 30,000 banks and 8,000 insurance companies. (Note: Export/download functions work best from Internet Explorer.)
Profiles of every country and region in the world.
Online version of the Europa World Year Book and all nine volumes of the Europa Regional Surveys of the World series, containing detailed political, economic, and geographic information on over 250 countries and territories, including recent statistics, directory information, and current analysis. Plus thousands of directory contact details with click-through web links and a comprehensive listing of some 1,900 international organizations. Additional features include: the ability directly to compare multinational statistics in graph and tabular form; interactive visual features, including maps, flags and downloadable graphs; an extensive directory of research institutes specializing in each region; book and periodical bibliographies of further research; and more.
Encyclopedic database of geographical places and features of all kinds.
A fully searchable, encyclopedic database of over 165,000 geographical places and features of all kinds. Lists names, descriptions, and characteristics including information on population, agriculture, industry, services, climate, and relief.
Provides information for 300,000+ periodical publications worldwide, including magazines, scholarly journals, book series, newsletters, newspapers, and electronic serials.
Provides bibliographic and publisher information on more than 300,000 periodicals of all types–-academic and scholarly journals, Open Access publications, refereed (i.e. peer-reviewed) titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more--from around the world.
These statistical abstracts are generally issued by the national statistical offices of foreign governments and contain country-level data not easily found elsewhere. The first release includes data from 29 countries; more will be added later. Global and regional statistical compendia issued by international organizations and research firms will also be included.