Related Guide
- AnthropologyComprehensive guide to U-M library resources in anthropology
Key Journals
Qualitative Research
- InterviewingSage Research Methods on interviewing
Reference Books
The Handbook of Language Contact by ISBN: 9781119485094Publication Date: 2020-09-04The second edition of the definitive reference on contact studies and linguistic change—provides extensive new research and original case studies. Resource for researchers involved in language contact, language variation and change, sociolinguistics, bilingualism, and language theory.
The Routledge Handbook of Language Contact by ISBN: 9780815363552Publication Date: 2020Provides an overview of the state of the art of current research in contact linguistics.
The Routledge Handbook of Multilingualism by ISBN: 9780415496476Publication Date: 2012-07-11Offers an authoritative guide to shifts over time in thinking about multilingualism as well as providing an overview of the range of contemporary themes, debates and research sites.
The Handbook of Pidgin and Creole Studies by ISBN: 9780631229025Publication Date: 2008-12-03Examines the key issues, topics and research in pidgin and creole studies.
The Routledge Handbook of Second Language Acquisition and Psycholinguistics by ISBN: 9781003018872Publication Date: 2022-12-21A comprehensive survey of the latest research at the intersection of linguistics, cognitive psychology, and applied linguistics, for those seeking to understand the mental architecture and processes that shape the acquisition of additional languages across the lifespan
The Oxford Handbook of Sociolinguistics by ISBN: 9780199744084Publication Date: 2013-01-21Sociolinguistics has several subfields with distinct methods and interests. Includes chapters on sociolinguistic developments in areas of the world that have been relatively neglected in the major journals. Includes material on sign language sociolinguistics.
- Ethnologue: Languages of the WorldEncyclopedia of the world's known living languages. Entries include an estimate of the number of speakers, alternate names, dialects, classification and language maps. Links to OLAC Open Language Archives for further description.
Interview Methods
Learning How to Ask by ISBN: 9781139165990Publication Date: 2012-06-05Proposes new techniques for designing, implementing, and analyzing interview-based research.- A Practical Introduction to In-Depth Interviewing byISBN: 9781473921344Publication Date: 2015A nuts and bolts introduction to interviewing.
Learning from Strangers by ISBN: 9780684823126Publication Date: 1995Weiss walks the reader through the method of qualitative interview studies: sample selection, development of an interview guide, the conduct of the interview, analysis, and preparation of the data.- Basics of Qualitative Research byISBN: 9781452230153Publication Date: 2008Techniques and procedures for developing grounded theory. Third edition.
- Open Data DEIA ToolkitIncludes guidelines for responsible and ethical data collection.