Help With College Research?
Steps to Learning How to Research
The University of Michigan Library has many guides that will help you develop your research skills.
Highly Recommended Databases for Middle and High School Students
What is a database? A database is an electronic collection of scholarly and peer reviewed articles, ebooks, newspaper articles, and media. Some of the databases that are listed will be licensed through University of Michigan Libraries, Ypsilanti District Library and Ann Arbor District Library. The databases are specifically to be used by middle and high school students for college level research. If you are a guest, in order to use the University of Michigan Library databases, you will need to come to the library. For Ypsilanti District Library and Ann Arbor District Library, you will need to have a library card to access their databases.
University of Michigan Library Popular Databases
- Academic Search Complete
- Alt HealthWatch
- American Indian Histories and Cultures
- Bibliography of Asian Studies
- DemographicsNow
- Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History
- Ethnic NewsWatch
- Gale Ebooks
- Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America
- Gale General OneFile
- Gale Health and Wellness
- GenderWatch
- Handbook of Latin American Studies
- Middle Eastern and Central Asia Studies
- ProQuest Research Library
- Referencia Latina
- Web of Science
Ypsilanti District Library Popular Databases
Ann Arbor District Library Popular Databases
MelCat Popular Databases
Primary Sources: What about Books, Media and Other Related Material?
- How to Find MaterialIt is important to find the right material when conducting your research and this quick guide can help you with how to search for a book or media.
Examples of Primary, Secondary and Tertiary Sources
Source:
Clark State Library. (2021). Image of Primary, secondary and tertiary sources. Management 1000: Primary, Secondary and Tertiary Sources. Retrieved April 29, 2022, from https://lib.clarkstate.edu/c.php?g=573958&p=3957821.
How Do I Cite a Resource?
- Citation Help - Research GuideThis is a helpful research guide that will walk you through on how to cite and what to cite.
To Google or Not to Google for Research?
What is a domain? A domain is an address name to locate websites. When looking for credible resources online, it is important to check the domain that the information is listed on. There are many ways to know if an online source is reputable:
Identifying Credible Websites: Identifying Credible Websites
Source:
Kent State University . (2020, May 16). Identifying credible websites: Identifying credible websites. LibGuides. Retrieved May 25, 2022, from https://libguides.stark.kent.edu/websites