Research Guides: K-12 Community Engagement: Resources, Research and Services: Resources for Parents

University of Michigan Library's Children's Literature Collection

Childrens' Literature Collection

The children's literature collection gathers together children's and young adult literature to support the curriculum of the University of Michigan's School of Education, Residential College, and School of Information. However, the children's literature collection is accessible to the public. If you are a guest and have a guest library account, then you can checkout the material in the collection.

Description:

The material included, but are not limited to" picture books, young adult literature, classics. wordless picture books, early readers, folk literature, fairy tales, mythology, modern fantasy, poetry, plays, fiction, and non-fiction.

Location:

University of Michigan, Harlan Hatcher Graduate Library, South, 3rd floor

Subject Specialist:

Jo Angela Oehrli, jooehrli@umich.edu

Learning and Children's Literature Librarian

Standouts for Middle School and High School Students

Stamped - Jason Reynolds
Inks and Ashes - Valynne Maetani
Tofu Quilt - Ching Yeung Russell
Under the Mesquite - Guadalupe Garcia McCall
Enchanted Air - Margarita Engle
Elatsoe - Darcie Little Badger
I Can Make This Promise - Christine Day
El Deafo - Cece Bell
You're Welcome Universe - Whitney Gardner
Absolutely Positively Not - David La Rochelle
Deliver Us From Evie - M.S. Kerr

Literacy Resources for Youth

Brightly
Providing literature and resources in encouraging children to read.
YALSA Teen Database
This is a YALSA (Yong Adults Library Services Association ) database of books and other materials selected by librarians and educators for the ages of 12-18.
KidLit TV
Online resources for childrens' literature.
Starfall Education: Kids Games, Books and Movies for K-3
This is a virtual learning tool for K-3.
World Book Early Learning
This is an early learning interactive tool that has videos, activities, games and stories to help parents with educating K-5.

College and Work Readiness Resources

Career Staircase
This is a great resource to help prepare middle and high school students for the "What Next" in their lives.
QuestBridge
Is a nonprofit that connects low income exceptional teens with leading colleges and opportunities.
CommonApp
Resource for youth that are applying their first time or are a transfer student.
Access College: The Student Lounge
I Want to Go to College, Now What?
This is a guide for youth that are experiencing homelessness and want to attend college.
Invest in What's Next: Life After High School
This is a resource to help a young adult understanding how the "what's next" will look like in the next phase of their life.
Youth Engaged for Change Education and Career Toolkit
This is a tool kit to help parents and young adults find the best options for college.
University of Michigan Student Life Multi-Ethnic Student Affairs
Mission: Using the lens of race and ethnicity, MESA engages the campus community and transforms the student experience to build inclusive spaces and equitable opportunities for all.
University of Michigan Student Life: Trotter Multicultural Center
Mission: As a national leader in promoting an inclusive campus climate, the Trotter Multicultural Center serves as a campus facilitator, convener, and coordinator of intercultural engagement and inclusive leadership education initiatives for University of Michigan students.
Spectrum Center
Mission: With sexual orientation, gender identity and gender expression as our framework, the Spectrum Center is committed to enriching the campus experience and developing students as individuals and as members of communities. Our work is accomplished through a student-centered, intersectional lens. The Center envisions an inclusive campus community free of discrimination in all forms where social justice inspires community engagement and equity.
University of Michigan Center for Education of Women
Mission: CEW+ empowers women and underserved individuals in the University of Michigan and surrounding communities by serving as an advocate and providing resources to help them reach their academic, financial, and professional potential.

Scholarships and Other Financial Opportunities

University of Michigan Credit Union Youth Scholarship Program
This is a scholarship for University of Michigan members and their families.
Student Parent Resources for Child Care
This is a resources for students that are attending college currently or in the future that are parents to assist with child care.
Dollar General Literacy Foundation
This is a resource that shares grant programs that helps both adults and youth fund their college education.
Go Blue Guarantee
This for free tuition for undergraduate students whose families incomes are $65,000 and below.
Student Parent and Caregiver Study Room
This came out of an inititative and provides a study space for student parents attending college at the University of Michigan. It is child friendly and provide resources for the children that also use the space.

Last Updated: Dec 16, 2024 1:42 PM