This is the "Overview" page of the "Public Health (General)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
MLibrary Home | Mirlyn Search Tools MGet It | Ask a Librarian
University of Michigan

Public Health (General)   Tags: best_bet, biostatistics, environmental_health_sciences, epidemiology, health_behavior_and_health_education, health_management_and_policy, health_sciences, public_health, public_health_(general), public_health_general, thl  

Provides resources, strategies, and information on conducting research in Public Health.
Last Updated: Apr 7, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.umich.edu/publichealth Print Guide RSS Updates

Overview Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Help with Library Resources

 

New Books in the Library

Loading Loading...
blank padding

Disaster Relief Mobile Apps

 

Overview

Welcome to the general guide for the SPH community. If you've been searching for 20 minutes or longer and can't find what you're looking for, feel free to give us a call! Your librarian can:

  • Show you how to cite your sources and manage your citations
  • Help you find grants and other funding sources, as well as specific information NIH grantees need to know
  • Show you where to get assistance with statistical software
  • Provide links to other library resources for research and scholarship, teaching, and professional development

The departmental guides, linked to the left on this page, provide detailed lists of information sources to help answer your research questions.  Each departmental guide lists the best sources for finding statistical data, articles, and facts for topics of particular interest to your department's faculty, students, and other researchers.

 

Taubman Health Sciences Library Blog

For news & resources related to health & library services, check out our blog:  http://thlibrary.wordpress.com/

Loading Loading...
blank padding

Statistical Resources Mobile Apps

  • Kaiser State Health Facts
    Provides free, up-to-date, & easy-to-use health data on all states & more than 700 health topics.
  • Measure DHS
    Provides the major indicators for surveys - Demographic & Health Survey, AIDS Indicator Survey, & Malaria Indicator Survey - at your fingertips.
  • TOXNET
    Toxicology & environmental health databases: Hazardous Substances Data Bank (HSDB®); TOXLINE®; ChemIDplus®; TOXMAP®; WISER®; & Haz-Map®

Library Contact

Profile Image
Taubman Health Sciences Library
Contact Info
1135 E. Catherine, 5726
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-2038
734.763.3071
Send Email
 

Library Help

The current on-duty librarian for the library-wide Ask a Librarian IM service is available when you see a green dot at the top of the box.

See http://www.lib.umich.edu/ask for additional contact methods.

Public Health Mobile Apps

  • AIRNow
    Provides real-time air quality information to help you protect your health. Get location-specific reports on current air quality and air quality forecasts for both ozone and fine particle pollution (PM2.5). With air quality maps.
  • CDC Flu App
    Easily view current influenza recommendations & influenza activity updates. Available for the iPad/iPhone/iPod. More apps from the CDC can be found here.
  • CDC Mobile
    Provides information on seasonal flu, H1N1 flu, public health emergencies, and more. An app for the iPad is also available. From the centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
  • CDC STD Tx Guide
    An easy-to-use reference that helps health care providers identify & treat patients for STDs. More apps from the CDC can be found here.
  • EPA Mobile
    Mobile-friendly version of the US Environmental Protection Agency's web site.
  • EpiSurveyor
    Create an account, design forms, download them to phones, & start collecting data in minutes, for free. Find detailed list of devices on web site.
  • Health Map Mobile
    Provides real-time disease outbreak information; based on outbreak data of varying reliability (from news sources to curated personal accounts, to validated official alerts).
  • Public Health News
    Stay up-to-date on breaking public health news and research, plus events and activities going on around the Harvard School of Public Health.
  • Safe Pregnancy & Birth
    A comprehensive app on pregnancy and birth, especially for low resource settings. Available for iOS &Android, in English & Spanish. From Hesperian.
  • UV Index
    Provides a daily forecast of the UV radiation levels from the sun on a 1 - 11+ scale.

Contact

We welcome your feedback on our web site.

Copyright

Creative Commons

Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 license. For details and exceptions, see the Library Copyright Statement.

©2014, Regents of the University of Michigan

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip