Best Background Sources
Find overviews of topics, sociologists, schools of thought--including lists of the best articles and books to consult for further research.
- 21st Century Sociology
- Annual Review of Sociology
- Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology
- Encyclopedia of Sociology
- Encyclopedia of Social Problems
- International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences (IESBS)
- International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
Click here to find more reference books
Best Places to Find Sociology Articles
- Sociological Abstracts
Provides access to the international literature in sociology and related disciplines. Covers 1800+ journals, back to 1952.
- ProQuest Sociology
Full-text access to more than 310 journals in sociology and social work, including many of the core titles in the field.
The most comprehensive index of articles available from the library--over a half-billion articles from nearly 100,000 journals, newspapers and magazines, in all subjects, including sociology, with "MGet It" links to full text. It's like Google for the library's online content, but without the ads! [Search Tips]
- Google Scholar (with "Availability at UMichigan" links)
Search engine for scholarly works, with "Availability at UMichigan" links (powered by "MGet It") that connect to full text, automated searching of U-M's Mirlyn catalog, automated completion of requests for delivery services, etc. [Search Tips]
Click here for more article databases
Best Places to Find Sociology Books
Recent Sociology Articles by UM Authors
This is a list of recently published peer-reviewed articles by UM Department of Sociology authors. [Powered by Scopus]