Provides resources, strategies, and information on conducting research in anthropology
Last Updated: Jan 25, 2013
Please help us evaluate today's lab session by completing a short form.
Use these databases to find scholarly articles in the field of anthropology
- AnthropologyPlus (EBSCO)
Now provided by EBSCO! Most comprehensive index of articles and monographs on anthropology, archaeology and anthropological linguistics. Covers over 2500 journals and books in series.
- ISI Web of Science
Includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and Humanities Citation Index. Search SSCI and SCI simultaneously for coverage of most anthropology journals. Covers 1899 to the present for science and 1898 to the present for social science. NEW: now includes Book Citation Index, citation indexing for 30,000 books in the sciences and social sciences.
Electronic archive of 31 journals published by the American Anthropological Association (AAA) from Vol. 1 to present.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
For linguistic anthropology and linguistics. LLBA also covers related disciplines such as language acquisition, bilingualism, and artificial intelligence.
- MLA International Bibliography
The MLA is a subject index for language, literature and folklore.
- Zoological Record Plus
Zoology and animal sciences, taxonomy and systematics. ZR Plus provides extensive coverage of the world's zoological and animal science literature, covering research from biochemistry to veterinary medicine. Provides an easily searched collection of references from over 4,500 international serial publications, plus books, meetings, reviews and other non serial literature from over 100 countries.
- Sociological Abstracts
Indexes and abstracts international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800 journals.
- Abstracts in Anthropology
Classified index and abstract of all four subfields of anthropology: cultural anthropology, physical anthropology, archaeology and linguistics. Includes abstracts of site reports, analytical studies, and reports on field techniques and artifacts.
- German Anthropology Online: Anthropological Abstracts
Provides abstracts to anthropological work published in German. Includes abstracts of articles from journals, monographs, exhibition catalogs and yearbooks. Continuation of the print abstracts 'Abstracts in German Anthropology'.
- International Bibliography of Anthropology
A segment of the International Bibliography of the Social Sciences.
Paper only: Grad Ref Z 5112 .I62
- Anthropological Literature Guide
Guide on how to use Anthropological Literature, one of the two indexes that comprise AnthropologyPlus.
The Mirlyn catalog enables you to search and browse the University of Michigan Library’s collection of books, journals, audio/video materials, electronic resources and more.
- Mirlyn Classic
The old interface of Mirlyn. You may find this easier to use for finding books or journals if you already have an author or title.
WorldCat is a world-wide library catalog. Over 62 million records describing books, periodicals, sound recordings, videos, musical scores, archival materials, maps, electronic resources, and much more, in over 400 different languages. Shows what materials are held by over 57,000 libraries worldwide
The current on-duty librarian for the library-wide Ask a Librarian IM service is available when you see a green dot at the top of the box.
See http://www.lib.umich.edu/ask for additional contact methods.