Library Contact
For more information or to schedule an individual or group consultation, contact the THL Research Impact Core.
Tools
Use the tools below to identify citation counts for published articles. Note that article citation counts can vary between databases, as each aggregates citations from different publications and may or may not include grey literature.
-
Altmetric ExplorerBrowse, search, and query "mentions" of articles across the web, including in news stories, policy documents, and social media. Once in the database, create a personal account in order to export results and save searches and alerts.
-
Michigan ExpertsMichigan Research Experts provides article citation counts for articles authored by participating U-M researchers and links directly to citing articles.
-
Google Scholar @ U-M (with U-M Ann Arbor MGet It Links)Includes a "Cited by" count at the article level based on citations in Google Scholar sources. Clicking on the "Cited by" number links to the full list of citing articles.
-
Google Scholar CitationsAllows individual researchers to create profile pages that track citation information.
-
Publish or PerishSoftware compatible with Google Scholar data that can be used to compile citation metrics.
-
SciValA web-based analytics tool that provides comprehensive access to the research performance of more than 14,000 research institutions and their associated researchers from 230 nations worldwide.
-
ScopusIn article search result pages, citations are listed on the right of the display. More comprehensive citation information is available by clicking the "Analyze Search Results" link at the top of search results pages.
-
Web of ScienceLists article citations on the right side of search results pages. More comprehensive citation information is available by clicking on "Create Citation Report" at the top of search results pages.
Highlighted Resource: Scopus
Scopus is an international multi-disciplinary indexing & abstracting database for scientific, medical, technical, and social sciences. It is a good resource for citation count information, field weighted citation impact, and also has author profiles.
-
ScopusThis is an international multi-disciplinary indexing & abstracting database for scientific, medical, technical, and social sciences. On the search result page, citations are listed on the right. More comprehensive citation information is available by clicking the "Analyze Search Results" link at the top of search results pages.
Relative Citation Ratio
The Relative Citation Ratio calculation uses an article's co-citation network to field- and time-normalize the number of citations received.
-
Relative Citation RatioLearn more about this indicator in the article: Hutchins BI, Yuan X, Anderson JM, Santangelo GM. Relative Citation Ratio (RCR): A New Metric That Uses Citation Rates to Measure Influence at the Article Level. PLoS Biol. 2016;14(9):e1002541. Published 2016 Sep 6. doi:10.1371/journal.pbio.1002541
-
iCiteThe NIH's web-based Relative Citation Ratio calculation tool provides citation measures for 99% of the articles posted in PubMed between 1995 and 2014.
Field Citation Ratio (FCR)
Definition
"The Field Citation Ratio (FCR) is a citation-based measure of scientific influence of one or more articles. It is calculated by dividing the number of citations a paper has received by the average number received by documents published in the same year and in the same Fields of Research (FoR) category. The FCR is calculated for all publications in Dimensions which are at least 2 years old and were published in 2000 or later. Values are centered around 1.0 so that a publication with an FCR of 1.0 has received exactly the same number of citations as the average, while a paper with an FCR of 2.0 has received twice as many citations as the average for the Fields of Research code(s)." - Dimensions Definition
This metric accounts for the different citation patterns in the different fields, which means that it is field normalized; it can provide insight for citation rates of a publication across fields.
Where To Find FCR
This metric will be visible within the details of a publication on the Michigan Experts platform, if it has received any citations and was published more than 2 years ago. The metric will be noted next to the "Dimensions Badge."
-
Michigan ExpertsHighlights faculty expertise (e.g., publications, grants) for researchers in the health sciences and other units across campus.