General Contact
Librarians are happy to help with any research questions, or to have a consultation in-person or virtually. Contact us below.
Other Useful Research Guides
Getting Started
Searching for property data can be very difficult, but it doesn't have to be. In this research guide, you will find numerous resources to help you begin your search process.
- Looking for general information? See the list below to get started.
- Looking for specific or more complex information? Use the side navigation to locate property data within specific areas (e.g. chemical, physical, or spectra data).
Still need help? Contact enginlibrarians@umich.edu for additional help in locating a specific property data.
Online Reference Books
Best Places to Start:
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics by ISBN: 9781032425207Publication Date: 2023Find information on physical constants and properties.
- Knovel: Engineering & Scientific Online References This link opens in a new windowElectronic versions of popular reference books in engineering and applied sciences. Features access to books from many different publishers and includes reference handbooks and conference proceedings.
- AccessEngineering This link opens in a new windowComplete online access to McGraw-Hill's Engineering Handbooks.
Other Sources:
Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry by ISBN: 9783527306732Publication Date: 2003This reference covers the science and technology in all areas of industrial chemistry.
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology by ISBN: 9780471238966Publication Date: 2001Covers the latest developments in chemical technology and related fields.
Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook, 9th Edition by ISBN: 9780071834087Publication Date: 2018Chemical engineering information, from fundamentals to state of the art.
Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis (EROS) by ISBN: 9780470842898Publication Date: 2001Covers 3500+ reagents used in organic synthesis. Searchable by reagent names, structures, substructures, reaction conditions, and full text.
Databases
Best Places to Start:
- Compendex (on Engineering Village) This link opens in a new windowProvides international coverage of engineering and applied science literature in over 5000 journals, conference proceedings, and technical reports.
>>>Check out this tutorial on how to search for property data using the "By Physical Property" filter located on the left hand side of the page (after you have run a search). - SpringerMaterials This link opens in a new windowContains resource for physical and chemical data in materials science; see the Landolt-Bornstein collection (located on the left side of the page after you have clicked the link).
- CHEMnetBASECHEMnetBASE provides access to a list of chemistry databases. When looking for property data see: CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics, Combined Chemical Dictionary, Properties of Organic Compounds, and Polymers: A Property Database.
>>>Find the above databases within the "Explore CHEMnetBASE" box on the page.
- SciFinder This link opens in a new windowCombined access to Chemical Abstracts CAPlus, Registry, CASREACT, CHEMLIST, CHEMCAT databases and Medline. Search by chemical structure or substructure, reaction, name, formula, etc., or by natural language query.
>>>Check out this tutorial video (30mins) on how to search for property data using SciFinder.
Other Sources:
- Reaxys (Web Access to Beilstein, Gmelin and Patent Chemistry Database) This link opens in a new windowCombined web access to Beilstein, Gmelin and Patent Chemistry Database, searchable by chemical structures or reactions.
- NIST Chemistry WebBookChemical, physical & spectroscopic data of many chemical substances. Includes IR, NMR, MS, UV, thermochemical data for substances & reactions, etc. Searchable by structure, formula, and property values. Compiled by NIST under the Standard Reference Data Program.
Last Updated: Oct 31, 2024 2:24 PM
Subjects: Engineering, Science