General Contact
Librarians are happy to help with any research questions, or to have a consultation in-person or virtually. Contact us below.
Best Places to Start
- ASM International HandbooksASM Handbooks provides materials data for metals, ceramics, and composites. Access is via the database Knovel.
- AccessEngineering This link opens in a new windowComplete online access to McGraw-Hill's Engineering Handbooks.
- SciFinder This link opens in a new windowCombined access to Chemical Abstracts CAPlus, Registry, CASREACT, CHEMLIST, CHEMCAT databases and Medline. Search by chemical structure or substructure, reaction, name, formula, etc., or by natural language query.
>>>Check out this tutorial video (30mins) on how to search for property data using SciFinder. - SpringerMaterials This link opens in a new windowContains resource for physical and chemical data in materials science; see the Landolt-Bornstein collection (located on the left side of the page after you have clicked the link).
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics by ISBN: 9781032425207Publication Date: 2023Find information on physical constants and properties.
Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook, 9th Edition by ISBN: 9780071834087Publication Date: 2018Chemical engineering information, from fundamentals to state of the art.
Other Sources
- CINDASCINDAS is a collection of handbooks and databases. Locate materials properties data, such as thermal, physical, and other property data.
- NIST Chemistry WebBookChemical, physical & spectroscopic data of many chemical substances. Includes IR, NMR, MS, UV, thermochemical data for substances & reactions, etc. Searchable by structure, formula, and property values. Compiled by NIST under the Standard Reference Data Program.
- MatWeb This link opens in a new windowSelect materials by name or designation, search for materials that meet your property requirements, find metals based on their constituent elements, or search for specific materials.
Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, 12th Edition by ISBN: 9781259588501Publication Date: 2017Provides clear, concise answers to thousands of mechanical engineering questions, including data and calculations along with clear explanations of current principles, important codes, standards, and practices.
Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry by ISBN: 9783527306732Publication Date: 2003This reference covers the science and technology in all areas of industrial chemistry.
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology by ISBN: 9780471238966Publication Date: 2001Covers the latest developments in chemical technology and related fields.
Civil Engineering Materials by ISBN: 0128027517Publication Date: 2015Civil Engineering Materials explains why construction materials behave the way they do.
