Welcome
Welcome to the African Studies Library Guide.
Reference Sources
- A dictionary of African mythology Searchable database of over 400 entries from Harold Scheub's Dictionary of African mythology.
- Africa Research Central "Gateway to the archives, libraries, and museums with important collections of African primary sources."
- Africa South of the Sahara Author: Europa Publications Limited. Publisher: Europa Publications Ltd., 1971- "A new survey and reference book of the countries south of the Sahara presented in a continental perspective." See information link for library holding information.
- African Biographical Archive [microform]Author: Mediavilla, Victor Herrero[editor]. Publisher: München : K.G. Saur, [1995?-1999?], Holdings Location: GRAD SERIALS/MICROFORMS, Call No: MICRO-F 4151.
- African WritersAuthor:Cox, C. Brian. Publisher: New York : Charles Scribner's Sons ; London : Simon & Schuster Prentice Hall International, c1997. Holdings Location: GRAD REFERENCE (Non-Circulating), Call No: PL 8010 .A4531 1997, Library has: 1(v.1-2 1997)
- Afrique cent livres : bibliographie sélectiveAuthor: Magnier, Bernard. Publisher: Paris : Paris bibliothèques éditions, c2001. Location: GRADUATE LIBRARY--Call No: Z 3504 .M24 2001
- Bibliography of African LiteratureAuthor: Limb, Peter and Volet, Jean-Marie. Publisher: Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 1996. Holdings Location: GRADUATE LIBRARY, Call No: Z 6514 .C7 A38 L56 1996
- Bibliography of publications : Africa Region, 1990-97Author: Mohan, P.C. (editor). Publisher: Washington, D.C. : World Bank, c1998. Location: GRADUATE LIBRARY Call No: Z 7165 .A4 B5141 1997
- Country Studies / Library of Congress "on-line versions of books previously published in hard copy by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress."
- Dissertation Abstracts [Proquest Digital Dissertations] Indexing and authors' abstracts of all dissertations in all subjects accepted at all accredited institutions in the U.S. and Canada, plus selected masters theses. Provides free downloads of the complete text of all UM dissertations filed since 1997.
- Electronic Journal of Africana Bibliography Online journal of bibliographies covering all aspects of African studies.
- Encarta Africana [CD-ROM] "A multimedia encyclopedia with more than 3000 articles, 2500 videos, audio clips, maps and photographs, and an interactive timeline of Africans and people of African descent."
- Encyclopedia of Africa south of the Sahara Author: Middleton, John. Publisher: New York : C. Scribner's Sons, c1997. Holdings Location: GRAD REFERENCE (Non-Circulating) Call No: DT 351 .E531 1997 Library has: (v.1-4 c1997) Location: Reference Rm. - 2nd floor N. Call No: DT 351 .E531 1997
- Ethno-Net Africa "A network for comparative studies, monitoring and evaluation of ethnic conflicts and social transformation in Africa."
- General History of Africa Author: UNESCO International Scientific Committee for the Drafting of a General History of Africa. Publisher: London : Heinemann ; Berkeley, Cal. : University of California Press, 1981 - , Holdings Location: GRADUATE LIBRARY, Call No: DT 20 .G32
- Human relations area files (eHRAF) collection of ethnography "The eHRAF Collection of Ethnography is a unique cross-cultural database. It contains more than a quarter of a million pages of descriptive information on the cultures of the world."
- International African BibliographyAuthor: School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London. Holdings Location: GRAD REFERENCE (Non-Circulating) Call No: Z3503 .I62 Library has: 1- ; 1971-
- Internet Living Swahili Dictionary (The Kamusi Project) "The Kamusi Project is an undertaking of the Yale Program in African Languages and the Council on African Studies at Yale".
- Newspapers and Periodicals of the African Diaspora Useful bibliographies of the African diaspora.
- Postcolonial African writers : a bio-bibliographical critical sourcebookAuthor: Parekh, Pushpa Naidu and Jagne, Siga Fatima (editors). Publisher: Westport, Conn : Greenwood Press, 1998. Holdings Location: GRADUATE LIBRARY, Call No: PL 8010 .P5851 1998
- Reference guide to Africa : a bibliography of sourcesAuthor: Kagan, Alfred. Publisher: Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2005. Location: GRADUATE LIBRARY Call No: Z 3501 .K151 2005
- The African studies companion : a resource guide & directoryAuthor: Zell, Hans M. and Lomer, Cecile. Publisher: London ; New Providence, N.J. : H. Zell Publishers, 2006. Holdings Location: GRAD REFERENCE (Non-Circulating), Call No: DT 19.8 .Z451 2006
- The Story of Africa BBC World Service presentation.
Subject Guide |
Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: African Studies |
Library Help
The current on-duty librarian for the library-wide Ask a Librarian IM service is available when you see a green dot at the top of the box.
See http://www.lib.umich.edu/ask for additional contact methods.



Loading...
