Engineering (General)

Video Recording

The recording is 56 minutes long and contains a closed caption option.

Whether you’re working on a chapter for your dissertation or a section of a scholarly article, writing literature reviews is tough. But there are some tips that can help you to conduct effective and efficient literature reviews.

In this workshop, you’ll learn how to:

• Determine which type of literature review you need to do (scoping review, systematic review, meta-analysis, etc.)
• Search scholarly databases effectively for literature, including saving searches and setting up alerts
• Utilize citation management software (Mendeley, EndNote, or Zotero) to keep your literature organized
• Get personalized assistance from a librarian

Presenter: Joanna Thielen, Engineering Librarian

Follow along with the GoogleSlide deck

Video Recording

The recording is 59 minutes long and contains a closed caption option.

Ever feel stuck while reading scholarly articles? Have a seemingly endless pile of articles to read but don't know how to start? Join the librarian for the ME department for a workshop on how to read scholarly articles effectively and efficiently. 

In this workshop, you'll learn how to:

• Develop a personalized method for reading scholarly articles
• Set up the ideal reading environment for you
• Organize your articles with citation management software (EndNote, Zotero, Mendeley, etc.)
• Get personalized assistance from your ME librarian

Presenter: Joanna Thielen, Engineering Librarian, on behalf of the Mechanical Engineering Graduate Council group

Follow along with the GoogleSlide deck

Video Recording

The recording is 51 minutes long and contains a closed caption option.

This workshop will introduce researchers to two databases (Pivot and Foundation Directory Online) used for identifying research funding from federal and foundation grantmakers. In this workshop, you’ll learn how to: 

• Search the Pivot database for grant and travel funding opportunities
• Track specific funding opportunities, save searches, and set up alerts of future funding opportunities in Pivot
• Use Foundation Directory Online to research potential funders

Presenter: Paul Grochowski, Engineering Librarian

Follow along with the GoogleSlide deck

Video Recording 

The recording is 54 minutes long and contains a closed caption option.

Identifying where to publish your research can be a daunting task. Should you do a conference paper, a journal article or both? What is double-blind peer review, an ORCID ID, a predatory journal and other publication jargon? In this workshop, you will learn: 

• Tips for selecting an appropriate IEEE periodical or conference
• How successful IEEE authors structure quality work to improve their chances of being accepted
• Insights into what editors look for in a submission and why editors and reviewers reject papers
• Tools & resources to help authors through the publishing process including the  IEEE Author Center, the IEEE Publication Recommender, and the IEEE Xplore digital library

Presenter: Jaylyn Kelley, IEEE Client Services Manager 

Follow along with the GoogleSlide deck