Skip to Main Content

Engineering (General)

Provides basic resources for locating information related to engineering.
This workshop series was hosted by the Engineering Librarians in 2022.
Topics included: Mendeley, Zotero, Systematic Reviews, How to Read Journal Articles, Writing a Dissertation with LaTeX, and Research Impact Metrics.

Mendeley

Video Recording

The recording is 38 minutes long and contains a closed caption option.

Need help organizing and managing your research citations and PDFs? Tired of trying to remember how to cite references in different formats? The citation management program Mendeley can help! In this workshop, you will learn how to:
Create and manage a personal citation database using Mendeley, including

  • Importing citations from online resources
  • Organizing references in your Mendeley library into groups
  • Work with Word documents (inserting citations and formatting and creating a bibliography in 1000’s of styles
  • Use private groups to collaborate with other researchers

At the end of the workshop, you will understand how Mendeley can be part of your research work flow and help you to create papers with proper citations and formatting.

Presenter: Carol Shannon, Informationist | Taubman Health Sciences Library


Follow along with the GoogleSlide deck

Citation Management with Zotero

Video Recording

The recording is 53 minutes long and contains a closed caption option.

Are you struggling to organize the sources that you've found for your research (journal articles, books, websites, reports, videos, and more)? Do you want to share those sources with your colleagues around the world? Do you spend hours trying to format your bibliography? Join us for this workshop to learn about Zotero, a free citation management tool!

You will learn to:

  • Create and organize personal and group libraries
  • Invite collaborators to view or contribute to those libraries
  • Annotate the PDFs you read
  • Easily add a bibliography and in-text citations in your Google Docs or Microsoft Word document

Presented by: Kathryn VanderBoll, Informationist | Taubman Health Sciences Library


Follow along with the GoogleSlide deck

Systematic Reviews: What are they? Are they right for my research?

Video Recording

The recording is 47 minutes long and contains a closed caption option.

Systematic reviews are becoming an increasingly common method for combining, synthesizing and publishing research results in engineering and other disciplines. But how do you know if this methodology is right for your research?

In this workshop, you’ll learn how to:

  • An overview of systematic review methodology, including the systematic search process 
  • Resources for learning more about this research methodology 
  • Get personalized help from a librarian

Presenter: Whitney Townsend, Informationist at the UM Taubman Health Sciences Library


Follow along with the Google slides

Take Command of your Dissertation with LaTeX

Video Recording

The recording is 59 minutes long and contains a closed caption option.

An introduction to how to use LaTeX, a typesetting program used by engineers and mathematicians, to create and format your dissertation. 

In this workshop, you'll learn how to:

  • Use a LaTeX dissertation template
  • Manage your dissertation citations in LaTeX
  • Implement general LaTeX tips and tricks
  • Get personalized help from a librarian 

Participants are encouraged to follow along on their own computers and have either registered for an account at overleaf.com or installed a LaTeX editor & compiler.

Presenter: Sam Hansen, Mathematics & Statistics Librarian


Follow along with the GoogleSlide deck

Research Impact Metrics

Video Recording

The recording is 40 minutes long and contains a closed caption option.

Are you confused about common research impact metrics, like h-index, journal impact factor, etc.? Not sure how they’re calculated or how you can use them to demonstrate the impact of your research? 

  • Common terms and metrics you might encounter  
  • Some emerging issues in this space
  • Where to find resources and tools 
  • Get personalized help from a librarian 

Presenter: Becky Welzenbach, Research Impact Librarian


Follow along with the GoogleSlide deck