Skip to Main Content
Library Research Guides

Engineering (General)

Provides basic resources for locating information related to engineering.

Finding Funding

Video Recording
The recording is 61 minutes long and contains a closed caption option.

This session will cover best practices for using the IEEE Xplore database and help you take your research to the next level.

Topics include:

  • deep dive into advanced and command search techniques
  • understanding order of precedence when utilizing each search option: global search, advanced search, and command search  
  • tips for using proximity operators and wildcards
  • common issues encountered when performing systematic reviews and recommended workarounds
  • personalization features such as Alerts, Search History, and My Projects
  • live Q&A with an IEEE Xplore expert

This session presented by Brian Rychman, IEEE Client Services Manager

Follow along with the GoogleSlide deck

This workshop series was hosted by the Engineering Librarians in 2023.
Topics included: Finding Funding, IEEE Xplore, Copyright, and LaTeX.

IEEE Xplore for Expert Searchers

Video Recording
The recording is 61 minutes long and contains a closed caption option.

This session will cover best practices for using the IEEE Xplore database and help you take your research to the next level.

Topics include:

  • deep dive into advanced and command search techniques
  • understanding order of precedence when utilizing each search option: global search, advanced search, and command search  
  • tips for using proximity operators and wildcards
  • common issues encountered when performing systematic reviews and recommended workarounds
  • personalization features such as Alerts, Search History, and My Projects
  • live Q&A with an IEEE Xplore expert

This session presented by Brian Rychman, IEEE Client Services Manager

Follow along with the GoogleSlide deck

Copyright for Instructors

Video Recording
The recording is 37 minutes long and contains a closed caption option.

Do you have questions about copyright as it pertains to instruction? This topic can be complex and nuanced. This workshop will cover basic information about US copyright in instruction in a university setting.

Topics include: 

  • Using diagrams from published works in instruction
  • Using YouTube videos in instruction
  • Reusing previously published content in new academic work

We will have generous time at the end of the session to have a Q&A with our Copyright Specialist.

Presented by: Melissa Levine, U-M Library Copyright Specialist

Follow along with the Google slides

Intro to LaTeX

Video Recording
The recording is 40 minutes long and contains a closed caption option.

An introduction to document creation in LaTeX, a typesetting program used by engineers and mathematicians to create technical documents with ease.

In this workshop we will:

  • Create a LaTeX document from a template
  • Learn about a number of important LaTeX packages
  • Learn how to create equations and insert figures
  • Learn how to cite and create bibliographies from BibTeX

Participants are encouraged to follow along on their own computers and have either registered for an account at overleaf.com or installed a LaTeX editor & compiler.

Links provided during workshop: 

Outline Link: https://tinyurl.com/ltxWsOl20230307
Workshop LaTeX template: https://tinyurl.com/latexWorkshop20230307

Presented by: Sam Hansen