Research Guides: East Asian Studies: Home

Library Contact

Contact asialibrary@umich.edu with your questions about the content in this research guide.

East Asian Studies Research Guide

This guide provides references to some of the most important electronic resources in Western languages for East Asian studies. The category links to the left of this box will direct you to each group of resources.

For resources in East Asian languages, please use the guides for Chinese, Japanese, and Korean Studies respectively.

Library Catalogs

U-M Library Catalog Search This link opens in a new window
Use quotation marks ( " " ) to search the words as a phrase. ex. "baby face," "dogs and cats."
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Combined catalog of 360+ million items of all kinds (books, periodicals, videos, maps, etc.) in 25,000+ libraries worldwide.

CRL Catalog
U-M users can request materials from the rich collection of the Center for Research Libraries.

Frequently Used Databases

Bibliography of Asian Studies
Bibliography focused solely on Western-language sources on Asia. Not as many full-text links as other databases, but its in-depth coverage of the field and chapter-level indexing of books make it invaluable.

EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Access to over 200 databases provided by EBSCO on the EBSCOhost interface platform, including 62 from the Michigan eLibrary.
Gale Databases: U-M Only This link opens in a new window
Provides access to 40+ Gale databases licensed by U-M Ann Arbor not provided by the Michigan eLibrary (MeL).
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to the archives of 2,600+ journals and 35,000+ books in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to scholarly journals and e-books published by over 120 scholarly societies and university presses.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Descriptions, sometimes with full text, of doctoral dissertations & master theses from US, UK, Canada, Ireland, etc.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 5,000 journals and magazines, academic and popular, with full text included for over 3,600.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Covering 12,000+ scholarly journals, plus selected books and published conference proceedings in all academic disciplines, the Web of Science Core Collection combines seven citation indexes which permit searching for articles that cite a known author or work, as well as searching by subject, author, journal, and author address.

East Asian Studies

Library Contact

East Asian Studies Research Guide

Library Catalogs

Frequently Used Databases

U-M Links