Short Cuts to Catalogs
U-M
Library Catalog
World
wide Union Catalog (Login required for off-campus users)
RISS International (전국대학소장자료)
Union
Catalog of university & college libraries in Korea
National Digital Library (국가전자도서관)
National
information database linking 8 major Korean national library catalogs
Google site to search over the full text of books
A shared Digital Repository for research libraries
Introduction
This guide provides selected resources supporting teaching and research in Korean Studies. For resources covering multiple countries in East Asia, please consult the Research Guide for East Asian Studies.
For detailed Information on Korean Collection, please click HERE.
E-Resources
Go to "Articles & Databases" page for Korean Full-Text journal articles (DBPIA / KISS), E-Books, and Newspaper archives.
ArticlesPlus and Google Scholar help you find articles in Korean. Just key in 한글 in a search box!
News from the Korean Collection at UM Library
* New Books: For a list of newly cataloged items within 1 to 4 weeks,
please Click HERE!
* Reorganized Asia Library stacks
All Asia Library materials are now organized in a continuous sequence of call numbers, starting from Class A on Floor 3 to Class Z on Floor 4 of Hatcher Graduate Library North Building.
Class B (Religion/Philosophy) is now located on Floor 3 and 3A.
Class D (History) is split between Floor 3A and 4 (east side).
Class H (Social sciences) is moved from Floor 3A to Floor 4 (east).
Class N (Fine Arts) can still be found on Floor 4, but it’s moved a bit westward.
Class P (Literature/Language) is still on Floor 4, but moved to the opposite side of the floor (it’s used to be at the east end, now is on the west side).
Should you have any problems in finding the materials you need, please ask anybody in Asia Library for help!
About Korean Collection
Korean
Library Collections at the University of Michigan
July
2010
The
establishment of the Center for Japanese Studies in 1947 and the Center for
Chinese Studies in 1961 has further developed teaching and research on East Asia.
Michigan eventually became a major center for Asian education with the creation
of the centers for the study of Asian languages and cultures. Korea-related
studies at the University have a relatively short history of 20 years compared
to other East Asian Studies at the University. Korean language courses were
first offered in 1990 and the Korean Studies Program (KSP) was officially
founded in 1995 at the International Institute with generous financial support
from the Korea Foundation. The KSP was upgraded to the Center for Korean
Studies (CKS) in 2007.
To satisfy the instructional and research needs
of the rapidly developing KSP, the Korean Collections began to collect books
and other materials on Korea on a large scale in 2000. One epoch-making development
is to join the Korean Collections Consortium of North America (KCCNA) as the 10th member in 2003. The
Consortium is funded by the Korea Foundation and each member library is committed
to develop in-depth collections on assigned subject areas. Michigan is
responsible for further developing the following subject areas; Historiography, Democratization, Reunification questions, Labor relations, Auto industry,
Publications on Korea and Korean published in Japan, Publications on Korea and
Korean published in Detroit and Mid West area.
As of June 2010 , the holdings of the Collections number more
than 36,000 in monographs and periodicals, and a wide range of e-resources. There is no doubt that the Korean Collections continue to
help facilitate groundbreaking scholarship in Korean Studies with the strong
commitment and support of the University and the Foundation.
Previous News
* May, 2011: New website for Korean DVD collections has been released. Features include "New DVDs", "Purchase Request", and "DVDs by category".
* April, 2011: Introducing Naver News Library for Tonga Ilbo (동아일보), Maeil Kyongje (매일경제), Kyonghyang Sinmun (경향신문): 1920-1999.
* March, 2011:
Asia Library Travel Grants Available for Non U-M Korean Studies Scholars (2011 applications have been closed)
* February, 2011:
Mirlyn Mobile is here!
It is best viewed via smart phone or other mobile device.
* October, 2010: Fiction Reading by Shin Kyoung-sook and Kim Young-ha
신 경숙&김영하 Oct. 16 (Sat) 4-6 PM at UMMA Auditorium
* September, 2010:Welcome back, everyone!
RISS International is available!<:쒼̯>
Please contact Yunah (yunahs@umich.edu) for library instructions & ILL service for Korean materials.
* April, 2010: RISS International is available!
* January, 2010: Happy New Year!
Dec. 8-9, 10AM to 10PM
* October, 2009: Asia Library Reading Room is undergoing renovation. <:쒼̯>
More North Korean publications have been added.
(ex) 수령님과 민족어
* September, 2009: Updated Korean e-resources
(Journal articles, DBs, e-books)
New faculty/Graduate student orientation
When: Please contact Yunah to schedule
Where: Asia Library
* August, 2009: Looking for Korean E-books?
More titles have been added to Mirlyn.
Check the online full-text availability.
Here are some samples;
* July, 2009: More Korean e-resources have been added to Search Tools.
For the entire list, enter "Korea" in Word(s) anywhere search box
at Find Databases by Keyword .
* April, 2009: Online Full text available for Tonga Ilbo (동아일보) and Choson Ilbo (조선일보). Please use Internet Explorer as your web browser. <:쒼̯>
* March, 2009: Thank you for visiting the "Exhibit of Treasures from the Asia Library". Here's some pictures at the exhibition.
* February, 2009: U-M users can access to Korean online full-text journals (KISS, DBPia) and other electronic resources (KRPia) on campus as well as off campus. Please check "Articles & Databases" tab for further updates.
Library Contact |
Contact Info The University of Michigan 414 Hatcher North 920 N. University Tel: 734-936-2408 Send Email |








Loading...
