East Asian Studies

offers cultural and polical information on Japan in 7 languages (English, Chinese (both simplified and traditional characters), French, Spanish, Arabic, and Russian).

compiled by Peter Kornicki, this bibliography is a revised version of the 1996 bibliography which he sold at a nominal fee. There is no copyright restriction.

Web based social science journal with good discussion on contemporary issues relating to Japan.

Site of the many surveys done during election time.

Statistics,economic indicators and Jetro's economic reports and surveys that focus on international trade and investment.

Describes itself as "probing geopolitics,political economy,society,culture and international relations,offering perspectives on historical and contemporary issues and conflicts." A peer-review journal, the articles are fully indexed."

Eighty four academic institutions participated in this repository venture. It contains theses, dissertation, research papers, departmental bulletin papers, journal articles. The database can be search cross-sectionally and in both languages.

Database of Japanese government documents relating to Asia. Resources from the National Archives of Japan, the Diplomatic REcord Office, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, and the Library of the National Institute for Defense Studies.

Vast array of statistics available. There is a link to E-Stat--The Portal of Official Statistics of Japan.

Established in 1998 the Center was to become the bond that would hold together teaching, centers on the social sciences and the modern world. The website contains the runs of the research newsletters of the center as well as the different invitee speeches on subjects of interest.

Official English language homepage of the Korean government. Contains information in all facets of Korea and the people. The "Directory" section presents government publications and website on Korea.

All kinds of statistical data searcheable by subject, name and institutions.

Data culled from various sources, most of them in European languags, on climate in late nineteenth and early twentieth century China. Although these focus on the weather, these materials could also serve as primary sources for other aspects of modern Chinese history.

"Much has been said about the traumatic segment of China's recent past." Most of the photographs contains the author's own photograph collection of the various aspects of the Cultural Revolution (1966-1976).

Sidney Gamble, a renowned sociologist China scholar traveled to China to collect data for socio-economic surveys and to photograph everyday life in China as well as unique architectural sites. This database contains photographs that was used to illustrate his monographs. Early travelers to Asia documents their passage thus the collection contains photos that he took of Korea, Japan, Hawaii, Russia and San Francisco. Also, include interactive map, filmed documentary of his 1924-1927 voyage.

In English and Chinese. Biographies of 40,000 individuals from the seventh to fourteenth centuries.

Theses and dissertation collection submitted to the University of Hong Kong since 1941. Prior to 1941, all theses were lost during the occupation of WWII. Collection is primarily in English.

Part of the digitization project of the National Library of Australia. The site relates to the Taipeng rebellion and Christianity of China. The Christianity of China collection consist mostly of translations of Christian works and classical Chinese works collected by the missionaries.

Contains fulltext publications by eminent French Sinologists in the early 20th century.

Contains fulltext publications by eminent French Sinologists in the early 20th century.

One thousand photos of China's Muslim population in western China in the 1920-1930. A "related finding aid to printed material in the collection points to an extensive collection of materials related to Islam in general and Islam in China. Finding ais is in transliterated form for Chinese and Arabic.

Photo collection from Harvard Yenching Library.

Contains 19th century European and North American encounters with Taiwan. Textual presentations includes woodcuts and map.

Research and resource platform on the history of Shanghai from the mid-nineteenth century to the present. Incorporates four sets of documents: essays,original documents, photographs and maps.

Online resource for students,scholars and policy-makers interested in South China Sea regional development,environment and security issues.