Library Contact
How Do I Find Ancient Greek Resources?
Browse this page to find resources such as databases, books, journals, and more related to Ancient Greek language and culture. Other resources include tips, lists, and primary sources. Please contact the Classical Studies Librarian for more information.
Recommended Ancient Greek Resources
- Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG): A Digital Library of Greek Literature This link opens in a new windowA searchable database of both Ancient and Medieval Greek texts.
- Perseus Digital LibraryProvides primary and secondary sources for the study of ancient Greece and Rome, including literature, coins, vases, sculptures, sites, gems, and buildings.
- Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum Online This link opens in a new windowCollects newly published Greek inscriptions and publications on previously known documents. Greek texts with critical aparatus.
- Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new windowMore than 520 Greek and Latin authors in the original language and in English translation.
How to Find Ancient Greek Commentaries
Commentaries offer grammatical, interpretive, and historical notes that can help you understand and translate texts. There are many ancient Greek commentaries in a variety of languages, such as English, French, German, and more in our Library catalog. Here are two popular English suggestions: Here are a few suggestions:
Recommended Ancient Greece Culture Journals
- Greece and RomeFocuses on ancient history, literature, art, archaeology, religion, philosophy, and reception of the ancient world.
- Hesperia : the Journal of the American School of Classical Studies at AthensThis journal covers Greek archaeology, art, epigraphy, history, materials science, ethnography, and literature, from earliest prehistoric times onward.
- Historia : Zeitschrift für alte GeschichteA peer-reviewed journal focusing on Greek and Roman antiquity. Historia is a multilingual resource, but many of the articles are available in English.
- The Journal of Hellenic StudiesThis journal covers a wide variety of Hellenic topics including Greek language, literature, history and art and archaeology in the Ancient, Byzantine and Modern periods, as well as reviews of recent books.
Other Resources Related to Ancient Greek
- TrismegistosAn interdisciplinary portal of papyrological and epigraphical resources. Includes Leuven Database of Ancient Books.
- American Journal of PhilologyThis journal publishes research in Greek and Roman literature; classic linguistics; and Greek and Roman history, society, religion, and philosophy.
- ArethusaFocuses on literary and cultural studies of the ancient world that combine contemporary theoretical perspectives with traditional approaches to literary and material evidence.
- Classical PhilologyCovers a broad range of topics, including aspects of the languages, literatures, history, art, philosophy, social life, and religion of ancient Greece and Rome.
- Classical Studies Journals at U-MComplete list of journals related to Classical Studies available at the University of Michigan.
- DAMOS (Database of Mycenaean at Oslo)This database aims at being an annotated electronic corpus of all the published Mycenaean texts, the earliest written evidence of the Greek language.
- Papyrology Collection at the University of Michigan LibraryThe collection contains not only important religious texts but also personal letters, school primers, sales contracts, and other records that paint a unique portrait of everyday life.
- Scaife ViewerThis resource is a reading environment for pre-modern text collections in both their original languages and in translation.
- SigLA: The Signs of Linear AAn open access database of all inscriptions known to date written in the Linear A script.
- Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists (TOCS-IN)Provides the tables of contents of a selection of Classics, Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals, both in text format and through a Web search program.
- TesseraeThis project aims to provide a flexible and robust web interface for exploring intertextual parallels.
- The Classical JournalContains a mix of academic articles and notes on Graeco-Roman antiquity, generally with a literary, historical, pedagogical or cultural focus.
- The Classical QuarterlyPublishes research papers and short notes in the fields of classical language, literature, history and philosophy.
- Classical Studies Databases at U-MComplete list of databases related to Classical Studies available at the University of Michigan.
Acknowledgements
Quinn Byington contributed to the content and design of this research guide. (August 2022)
Last Updated: Dec 16, 2024 1:41 PM
Subjects: Humanities