Research Guides: Finding Statistics and Data Sets: U-M Library Licensed Datasets

What Data does the Library Have?

The Library licenses access to many different sources of data. Below is a list of some frequently used licensed datasets. To find more try the link below to search in Library Databases Search

Databases Link to Resources with Data
Link to a Library Databases Search with a list of results where the format is data.

Data Axle - Data on Businesses and Services

Data Axle
Formerly called Reference USA, White- and yellow-pages directory listings for all U.S. residences and businesses, supplemented with government information from the Bureau of the Census, etc. Searchable by ZIP code, SIC (Standardized Industrial Classification) codes, number of employees, etc. as well as by name, address, and telephone number.
Data Axle Backfile
See the "More Information" section of this record for links to data backfile for
Business Historical data (1997-most recent) and Consumer Historical data (2006-most recent)

CoreLogic Parcel Level Real Estate Data

CoreLogic Parcel Level Real Estate Data
The CoreLogic data set contains data from individual, parcel-level real estate transactions and financial records. We have licensed access to Tax, Deed, and Foreclosure data at the parcel level for every county in the United States.

L2 Historical Voter Dataset

L2 Historical Voter Data
Fill out a form to request access to L2 Historical Voter Data, a national voter file collected from the US states' and District of Columbia's administrative records. L2 cleans and normalizes the data and then adds additional modeled demographic and lifestyle variables.

This is a large dataset (almost 3TB total) of raw micro data

Data on Countries

Cross National Time Series Data Set
CNTS is available as a downloadable spreadsheet of data covering many variables of interest to social scientists, especially those researching political conflicts and events. Data goes back to 1815 for some countries.

Bibliometric Data - Clarivate's Web of Science Data

Web of Science (Clarivate) provides a Core Collection of multidisciplinary indexes which permit searching for articles that cite a known author or work.

The U-M Library Web of Science license includes access to the Web of Science Lite API. However, because of limitations in the fields that can be returned, for bibliometric analysis, we recommend that you work with the library's local copy of xml files of the Web of Science Core Collection. The files include:
- Science Citation Index - 1900 - present
- Social Science Citation Index - 1900 - present
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index - 1975 - present
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index - 1990 - present
- Book Citation Index - 2005 - present
- Emerging Sources Citation Index - 2015 - present
To request access to the xml files, please email the library text and data mining group: librarytdm@umich.edu

Last Updated: Nov 13, 2024 1:18 PM

Subjects: General Information Sources, Government, Politics & Law, How-to, Social Sciences

Tags: clarklibrary, data, government, statistics