Finding Statistics and Data Sets

Data on crimes (including hate crimes) and law enforcement officers. Crime data can be found for many variables at the state and agency level

Established in 1978, the National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) archives and disseminates data on crime and justice for secondary analysis. The archive contains data from over 3,100 curated studies or statistical data series. NACJD is home to several large-scale and well known datasets, including the National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS), the FBI's Uniform Crime Reports (UCR), the FBI's National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS), and the Project on Human Development in Chicago Neighborhoods (PHDCN).

Uniform Crime Reporting data down to the reporting agency for many citites

SimplyMap is a web-based mapping application that allows you to create thematic maps and reports using demographic, business and marketing data. Data can be downloaded for use with other software such as Excel and GIS. Crime data is located in "Quality of Life"

This is a Web-based crime map of the City of Ann Arbor. Users can map out verified criminal activity near any address, select crime types, date ranges and generate reports.​​ CLEMIS Public Crime Search pulls incid​​ent data every 24 hours from the Ann Arbor police records ​​syste​m.

CLEMIS Public Crime Search for Ypsilanti, Michigan.

Provides access to statistical information produced by U.S. Federal agencies, private companies, and intergovernmental organizations. Create maps and reports from data you select from over 640 datasets. Subjects include health, crime, population, finance, industry, and marketing.

This resource gives data from 1997 to last year for both the entire state and separate counties and jurisdiction, noting numbers of arrests and types of offenses. Information about arrests includes the age of the offender.

This resource offers state-by-state data about number and types of internet crimes committed and the amounts of money lost. It also tracks some information about perpetrators and victims.

The Bureau of Justice Statistics regularly publishes information about crime committed in the United States. On its website, it offers key facts and often statistical charts describing trends in crime.

This resource offers detailed statistics on criminal offenses and arrests, the criminal justice system, judicial processing of offenders, and corrections. Most data is available at a national level only. Offers information about Prisoners on death row and prisoners released from death row since 1930 by race, crime, and jurisdiction (federal and state), as well as methods of capital punishment by state.

This resource offers full text or summaries of federal, state, and local reports on crime, courts, law enforcement, juvenile justice, and the victims of crime.

This is an interactive database for manipulating data on suspects and defendants in federal criminal justice cases
You can use the data dictionary to determine court characteristics, stage in criminal process, and type of offense. However, it may require time to understand the program

This resource offers detailed data on federally-prosecuted cases, convictions, and sentences by type of crime and state. The reports offer information on both civil and criminal litigation, including violent crime, white collar crime, and immigration

This resource indexes books, articles, and dissertations on crime and criminal justice. It offers coverage since 1968 in Western European languages, and is searchable by author, title, keyword, date, and language. Lengthy abstracts summarize the articles and may include some statistics

Publications and reports from the UN Interregional Crime and Justice Research Institute

This has the first through tenth (1970-2008) reports, which give information about types of crimes committed disaggregated by country.

This resource provides access to UNDOC studies on rugs and crime as well as information about the locations, types, and amounts of drugs seized internationally.