Research Guides: Finding Statistics and Data Sets: International

Statistics by Region or Country

ProQuest Statistical Insight
Provides general demographic data of federal government, state and local, and international level. Search abstract allows uses to search the abstracts of statistical publications from business and federal and state govrenment. This search engine provides outcomes based on keywords that users input. UM users only.
more...less...
Publisher:
ProQuest

Main Users:
Students and faculties of various social science departments.

Contents
**More specific information please see LexisNexis Satistical Insight Guide book :
http://www.lnstatistical.com/help/statistical/LN%20guidebook.pdf

* Source : Three optional abstracts modules titled American Statistics Index (ASI), Statisitical Reference Index (SRI), and Index to International Statistics (IIS) are available.

1) The American Statistics Index (ASI) abstracts and indexes statistical documents produced by the federal governments. (Coverage from 1973 onward)
2) The Statistical reference Index ( SRI) abstracts and indexes statistical documents from state, local, university and private sources including professional and trade associations,
independent research organizations, and consumer and trade magazines. (Coverage from
1980 onward)
3) The Index to International Statistics (IIS) abstracts and indexes statistical documents from
approximately 100 international intergovernmental organizations, including the United Nations, the European Union, and development banks. (Coverage from 1983 onward)

* Data Breakdowns by
Age/ Commodity/ disease or cause of death/ educational attainment/ government agency/ income/ individual company or institution/ industry/ martial status/ occupation/
race and ethnic group/ sex/ urban rural and metro nonmetro

* Subject
Animals/ Business income and expenses/ Employment and unemployment/ Business firms and establishments, number/ Veterinary medicine/ Animal diseases and zoonoses/ Population characteristics/ Pet food and supplies/ Statistical compendia/ Firearms

Data Format:
PDF, GIF, and excel(XLS)
The abstracts and citations can be printed; Users can export search results to Endnote and Refworks.
Cross National Time Series Data Set
CNTS is available as a downloadable spreadsheet of data covering many variables of interest to social scientists, especially those researching political conflicts and events. Data goes back to 1815 for some countries.
CIA World Factbook
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
more...less...
Publisher:
The Central Intelligence Agency (CIA)

Main Users:
Academics who are interested in the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for worldwide countries.

Contents

* The World Factbook

-World readers
- CIA Maps & Publications
- Historical Collection Publications

- Additional Publications
UN Data
Statistics produced by countries and compiled by the United Nations data system, as well as estimates and projections. Covers agriculture, education, energy, industry, labour, national accounts, population and tourism. UM users only.
more...less...
Even though UNdata contains some trade data, it is not replacing COMTRADE. COMTRADE is a very comprehensive database for merchandise statistics containing around 1.5 billion trade records in 7 classifications up to 6 digit level of the Classification. UNdata contains only around 40 million trade records only in 2 digit HS 1992 classification and searchable only by reporters.
OECD iLibrary
OECD iLibrary is one of the most comprehensive online resources on the world economy, society, and environment. It contains all books and working papers published by OECD since 1998, as well as a vast of collection of statistics, with data going back to the early 1960s and more than 80 countries covered. UM users only.
more...less...
Publisher:
Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD)

Main Users:
Academics who are interested in the world economic, social, educational, en environmental issues such as agriculture and food, development, economics, education, employment, energy, environment, finance and investment, governance, industry and services, nuclear energy, science and technology, social issues, migration and health, taxation, trade, transport, and urban, rural, and regional development.

Contents

* Databases : OECD.Stat includes data and metadata for OECD countries and selected non-member economies. OECD.Stat enables users to search for and extract data from across many databases under different themes such as agriculture and fisheries, development, economic projections, education and training, energy, environment, finance, globalisation, health, national accounts, productivity, regional statistics, social and welfare, etc.

* Key Tables : The key tables by country statistical profiles include a wide range of indicators on economy, education, energy, environment, foreign aid, health, information and communication, labour, migration, R&D, trade and society. Historical data refer to the latest eight time periods.

Data Format:
WEB, PDF, and excel(XLS)
The citation tool is compatible with popular bibliographical reference software such as Endnote, RefManager, Procite and Refworks.
World Bank eLibrary
Online, fully searchable and browsable collection of over 3,900 World Bank documents. Includes over 1,600 World Bank publications and over 2,300 Policy Research Working Papers, plus each new book and paper as they are published. UM users only.
more...less...
Publisher:
The World bank

Main Users:
Academics who are interested in agriculture, community and human settlements, conflict and development, education, energy, environment, finance and financial sector development, gender, governance, health, nutrition and population, industry, information and communication technologies, infrastructure economics and finance, international economics & trade, Law and development, macroeconomics and economic growth, poverty reduction, private sector development, public sector development, rural development, science and technology development, social development, social protection and labor, transport, urban development, water resources, water supply and sanitation issues.

Data Format:
PDF
World Development Indicators (World Bank)
The World Bank eLibrary is the World Bank’s subscription-based collection of nearly 6,000 books, reports, journals, and working papers. Each article, book, and working paper is enriched with semantic and bibliographic metadata, including topics, regions, countries, abstracts and keywords using a controlled vocabulary. For public, elibrary permitted to search, view, and download all free publications within eLibrary. However, paid content is only available by UM users, so the pdfs will not appear for those publications.
more...less...
Publisher:
The World bank

Main Users:
Academics who are interested in agriculture and rural development, aid effectiveness, climate change, economic policy and external debt, education, energy and mining, environment, financial sector, gender, health, infrastructure, labor& social protection, poverty, private sector, public sector, science and technology, social development, urban development.

Contents
-By country
-By topic
-Indicators
-Data Catalog
-Microdata

Data Format:
EXCEL, CSV, PDF
Balance of Payment Statistics (IMF)
BOP statistics is a part of IMF eLibrary data set. It contains international economic transaction data and international investment position, with history to 1960. The strength of this data set is good for quick fact check for fiscal conditions in worldwide countries.
more...less...
Main Users:

Subscribers only. Economics, Comparative Political economy, and International Political Economy, especially researches related fiscal policy

Contents

* Balance of Payments Analytic Presentation
* Balance of Payments Selected Standard Components
* BOPS Summary of International transactions
* G-20 & FSB Countries Export, Import and Current Accounts
* Global Discrepancies
* World and Region Account Balances
* World and Region Capital Account
* World and Region Current Account
* World and Region Financial Account
* World and Region Net IIP* (International Investment Position)
* World and Region Total IIP
Global Development Finance
The data covers portions of World Bank’s investments, assets it manages on behalf of global funds, and the World banks’ own financial statements. Users can share visualizations they create through social media. Open to public.
(Caution:the datasets are raw and may not have been audited yet. For official data on the World Bank’s finances please refer to the bank’s Annual report and the Global Partnership and Trust Fund operations site. )
more...less...
Publisher:
The World bank

Main Users:
Students and faculties of Economics, Comparative/International Political Economies.

Contents

* Country Summaries : The list include current and former members, borrower, and donors of the World Bank. Key financial visualizations for the country, displaying fresh data straight from open data sets. The charts update every time the source data updates.

* World bank Summery : Key financial visualizations for the International Bank of Reconstruction and Development (IBRD) and the International Development Association (IDA).

* Financial Intermediary Funds(FIFs) : FIFs represent a fast-growing business area fro the Bank, accounting for the majority of the Bank’s total trust fund portfolio. Many FIFs have been launched in the context of G7/G8 and G20 meetings. This page shows key financial visualizations for FIFs. The charts update every time the source data updates. This site contains four datasets on FIFs: Contributions, Funding Decisions, Commitments, and Cash Transfers. To explore and visualize detailed FIFs data, just access a source dataset.

* Financial Datasets : Please note that the data sets are raw and may not have been audited yet — our goal is to make raw data publicly available in open data format as soon as it is approved for public release through other channels. For official data on the Bank's finances please refer to our Annual Report and to the Global Partnership and Trust Fund Operations site.
Data Format:
CSV/ MS Excel XLS/MS Excel XLSX
XML/RDF/RSS/PDF

General Demographic Data

World Development Indicators (WDI)
The World Bank eLibrary is the World Bank’s subscription-based collection of nearly 6,000 books, reports, journals, and working papers. Each article, book, and working paper is enriched with semantic and bibliographic metadata, including topics, regions, countries, abstracts and keywords using a controlled vocabulary. For public, elibrary permitted to search, view, and download all free publications within eLibrary. However, paid content is only available by UM users, so the pdfs will not appear for those publications.
more...less...
Publisher:
The World bank

Main Users:
Academics who are interested in agriculture and rural development, aid effectiveness, climate change, economic policy and external debt, education, energy and mining, environment, financial sector, gender, health, infrastructure, labor& social protection, poverty, private sector, public sector, science and technology, social development, urban development.

Contents
-By country
-By topic
-Indicators
-Data Catalog
-Microdata

Data Format:
EXCEL, CSV, PDF
OECD iLIbrary
OECD iLibrary is one of the most comprehensive online resources on the world economy, society, and environment. It contains all books and working papers published by OECD since 1998, as well as a vast of collection of statistics, with data going back to the early 1960s and more than 80 countries covered. UM users only.
more...less...
Publisher:
Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD)

Main Users:
Academics who are interested in the world economic, social, educational, en environmental issues such as agriculture and food, development, economics, education, employment, energy, environment, finance and investment, governance, industry and services, nuclear energy, science and technology, social issues, migration and health, taxation, trade, transport, and urban, rural, and regional development.

Contents

* Databases : OECD.Stat includes data and metadata for OECD countries and selected non-member economies. OECD.Stat enables users to search for and extract data from across many databases under different themes such as agriculture and fisheries, development, economic projections, education and training, energy, environment, finance, globalisation, health, national accounts, productivity, regional statistics, social and welfare, etc.

* Key Tables : The key tables by country statistical profiles include a wide range of indicators on economy, education, energy, environment, foreign aid, health, information and communication, labour, migration, R&D, trade and society. Historical data refer to the latest eight time periods.

Data Format:
WEB, PDF, and excel(XLS)
The citation tool is compatible with popular bibliographical reference software such as Endnote, RefManager, Procite and Refworks.
World Bank eLibrary
Online, fully searchable and browsable collection of over 3,900 World Bank documents. Includes over 1,600 World Bank publications and over 2,300 Policy Research Working Papers, plus each new book and paper as they are published. UM users only.
more...less...
Publisher:
The World bank

Main Users:
Academics who are interested in agriculture, community and human settlements, conflict and development, education, energy, environment, finance and financial sector development, gender, governance, health, nutrition and population, industry, information and communication technologies, infrastructure economics and finance, international economics & trade, Law and development, macroeconomics and economic growth, poverty reduction, private sector development, public sector development, rural development, science and technology development, social development, social protection and labor, transport, urban development, water resources, water supply and sanitation issues.

Data Format:
PDF
ProQuest Statisitcal Insight
Provides general demographic data of federal government, state and local, and international level. Search abstract allows uses to search the abstracts of statistical publications from business and federal and state govrenment. This search engine provides outcomes based on keywords that users input. UM users only.
more...less...
Publisher:
ProQuest

Main Users:
Students and faculties of various social science departments.

Contents
**More specific information please see LexisNexis Satistical Insight Guide book :
http://www.lnstatistical.com/help/statistical/LN%20guidebook.pdf

* Source : Three optional abstracts modules titled American Statistics Index (ASI), Statisitical Reference Index (SRI), and Index to International Statistics (IIS) are available.

1) The American Statistics Index (ASI) abstracts and indexes statistical documents produced by the federal governments. (Coverage from 1973 onward)
2) The Statistical reference Index ( SRI) abstracts and indexes statistical documents from state, local, university and private sources including professional and trade associations,
independent research organizations, and consumer and trade magazines. (Coverage from
1980 onward)
3) The Index to International Statistics (IIS) abstracts and indexes statistical documents from
approximately 100 international intergovernmental organizations, including the United Nations, the European Union, and development banks. (Coverage from 1983 onward)

* Data Breakdowns by
Age/ Commodity/ disease or cause of death/ educational attainment/ government agency/ income/ individual company or institution/ industry/ martial status/ occupation/
race and ethnic group/ sex/ urban rural and metro nonmetro

* Subject
Animals/ Business income and expenses/ Employment and unemployment/ Business firms and establishments, number/ Veterinary medicine/ Animal diseases and zoonoses/ Population characteristics/ Pet food and supplies/ Statistical compendia/ Firearms

Data Format:
PDF, GIF, and excel(XLS)
The abstracts and citations can be printed; Users can export search results to Endnote and Refworks.
CIA World Factbook
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. The Factbook is in the public domain. Accordingly, it may be copied freely without permission of the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA).
more...less...
Publisher:
The Central Intelligence Agency (CIA)

Main Users:
Academics who are interested in the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for worldwide countries.

Contents

* The World Factbook

-World readers
- CIA Maps & Publications
- Historical Collection Publications

- Additional Publications

Political Economy

IMF data
aka. IMF eLibrary data. Provides international and domestic finance data, including exchange rate, interest rates, and other monetary and fiscal policy indicators from 1948 to the present.
more...less...
Publisher:
International Monetary Fund (IMF)

Main Users:
Economics and Political Economy

Contents
* Economic Indicators
: Exchange rates, Interest rates, Reserves, Prices and Production, Trade of Goods, Gross Domestic product (GDP)
* World Consumer Prices
* World Export Unit values/Export Prices
* World Exports, f.o.b.
* World Foreign Exchange
* World Gold
* World gross Domestic Product, Real
* World Import Unit values/Import Prices
* World Imports, c.i.f.
* World Reserve position in the Fund
* World SDR Holdings
* World Total Fund Credit & Loans Outstanding
* World Total reserves
* World Total Reserves minus Gold

Data Format:
RTF, Excel, and PDF
World Development Indicators (WDI)
Browse 298 featured indicators from the World Bank's most popular dataset, World Development Indicators (WDI), below. The WDI includes data for 216 economies spanning from 1960 to 2011. Open to public.
more...less...
Publisher:
The World bank

Main Users:
Academics who are interested in agriculture and rural development, aid effectiveness, climate change, economic policy and external debt, education, energy and mining, environment, financial sector, gender, health, infrastructure, labor& social protection, poverty, private sector, public sector, science and technology, social development, urban development.

Contents
-By country
-By topic
-Indicators
-Data Catalog
-Microdata

Data Format:
EXCEL, CSV, PDF
OECD iLibrary
OECD iLibrary is one of the most comprehensive online resources on the world economy, society, and environment. It contains all books and working papers published by OECD since 1998, as well as a vast of collection of statistics, with data going back to the early 1960s and more than 80 countries covered. UM users only.
more...less...
Main Users:
Academics who are interested in the world economic, social, educational, en environmental issues such as agriculture and food, development, economics, education, employment, energy, environment, finance and investment, governance, industry and services, nuclear energy, science and technology, social issues, migration and health, taxation, trade, transport, and urban, rural, and regional development.
UN Data
Statistics produced by countries and compiled by the United Nations data system, as well as estimates and projections. Covers agriculture, education, energy, industry, labour, national accounts, population and tourism and more.
more...less...
Even though UNdata contains some trade data, it is not replacing COMTRADE. COMTRADE is a very comprehensive database for merchandise statistics containing around 1.5 billion trade records in 7 classifications up to 6 digit level of the Classification. UNdata contains only around 40 million trade records only in 2 digit HS 1992 classification and searchable only by reporters.
Global Development Finance
The data covers portions of World Bank’s investments, assets it manages on behalf of global funds, and the World banks’ own financial statements. Users can share visualizations they create through social media. Open to public. (Caution:the datasets are raw and may not have been audited yet. For official data on the World Bank’s finances please refer to the bank’s Annual report and the Global Partnership and Trust Fund operations site. )
more...less...
Publisher:
The World bank

Main Users:
Students and faculties of Economics, Comparative/International Political Economies.

Contents

* Country Summaries : The list include current and former members, borrower, and donors of the World Bank. Key financial visualizations for the country, displaying fresh data straight from open data sets. The charts update every time the source data updates.

* World bank Summery : Key financial visualizations for the International Bank of Reconstruction and Development (IBRD) and the International Development Association (IDA).

* Financial Intermediary Funds(FIFs) : FIFs represent a fast-growing business area fro the Bank, accounting for the majority of the Bank’s total trust fund portfolio. Many FIFs have been launched in the context of G7/G8 and G20 meetings. This page shows key financial visualizations for FIFs. The charts update every time the source data updates. This site contains four datasets on FIFs: Contributions, Funding Decisions, Commitments, and Cash Transfers. To explore and visualize detailed FIFs data, just access a source dataset.

* Financial Datasets : Please note that the data sets are raw and may not have been audited yet — our goal is to make raw data publicly available in open data format as soon as it is approved for public release through other channels. For official data on the Bank's finances please refer to our Annual Report and to the Global Partnership and Trust Fund Operations site.
Data Format:
CSV/ MS Excel XLS/MS Excel XLSX
XML/RDF/RSS/PDF
World Bank eLibrary
The World Bank eLibrary is the World Bank’s subscription-based collection of nearly 6,000 books, reports, journals, and working papers. Each article, book, and working paper is enriched with semantic and bibliographic metadata, including topics, regions, countries, abstracts and keywords using a controlled vocabulary. For public, elibrary permitted to search, view, and download all free publications within eLibrary. However, paid content is only available by UM users, so the pdfs will not appear for those publications.
more...less...
Publisher:
The World bank

Main Users:
Academics who are interested in agriculture, community and human settlements, conflict and development, education, energy, environment, finance and financial sector development, gender, governance, health, nutrition and population, industry, information and communication technologies, infrastructure economics and finance, international economics & trade, Law and development, macroeconomics and economic growth, poverty reduction, private sector development, public sector development, rural development, science and technology development, social development, social protection and labor, transport, urban development, water resources, water supply and sanitation issues.

Data Format:
PDF

International Country Risk Guide This link opens in a new window
Political, financial, and economic risk data from the PRS (1984-2010). UM user only. Code book information is available from user guide. Table 2B Composite Risk Ratings, Table 3B Political Risk Points by Component, Table 4B Financial Risk Points by Component, Table 5B Economic Risk Points by Component.

Trade

World Integrated Trade Solution (WITS) This link opens in a new window
Gives access to international merchandise trade and protection related data and offers built-in analytical tools allowing users to assess the impact of tariff changes. The World Bank, in close collaboration and consultation with the various International Organizations such as the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD), International Trade Center (ITC), United Nations Statistical Division (UNSD) and the World Trade Organization (WTO), has developed the World Integrated Trade Solution (WITS). This software accesses and retrieves information on trade and tariffs which is compiled by the following international organizations:

The United Nation Statistics Division (UNSD) Commodity Trade (UN COMTRADE) Data Base contains merchandise trade exports and imports by detailed commodity and partner country. Values are recorded in US dollars along with a variety of quantity measures. The Database includes information for over 170 countries, some of which have been reporting these types of statistics to the United Nations since 1962.The data are recorded according to various internationally recognized trade and tariff classifications.
The United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD) Trade Analysis Information System (TRAINS) contains information on Imports, Tariffs, Para-Tariffs and Non-Tariff Measures for 119 countries. The data on tariffs, para-tariffs and non-tariff measures are available at the most detailed commodity level of the national tariffs (i.e., at the tariff line level). The data are recorded according to three internationally recognized trade and tariff classifications.
The World Trade Organization's (WTO) Integrated Data Base (IDB) contains imports by commodity and partner country and MFN applied and where available preferencial tariffs, at the most detailed commodity level of the national tariffs. the Consolidated Tariff Schedule Data Base (CTS) contains WTO bound tariffs, Initial Negotiating Rights (INR) and other indicators. The CTS reflects the concessions made by countries during goods negotiations (e.g., the Uruguay Round of Multilateral Trade Negotiations). The IDB and CTS are practical working tools and there are no implications as to the legal status of the information contained therein.

UN Commodity Trade Statistics (COMTRADE)
Contains over 170 countries’ annual international trade statistics data detailed by commodities and partner countries. All commodity values are converted from national currency into US dollars using exchange rates supplied by the reporter countries, or derived from monthly market rates and volume of trade. Quantities, when provided with the reporter country data and when possible, are converted into metric units. Time series of data for reporter countries starts as far back as 1962 and goes up to the most recent completed year. UM users only.
more...less...
Category:
4) Trade

Publisher:
United Nations (UN)

Main Users:
Academics who are interested in trade issues.

Contents
* Export
* Import
* Re-export
* Re-Import

Data Format:
Excel, TXT, Microsoft Access
Correlates of War Bilateral trade
Provides trade flows between states for the period 1870-2009. The data inlcude information on both bilateral trade flows and total national imports and exports. To access bilateral trade data, choose 'Available data Sets' from Contents, then click 'Bilateral trade (v3.0)'.
International Financial Statistics (IFS)
IFS data is one of IMF eData set. It provides all aspects of international and domestic finance, with history to 1948. It is good data resource of time-series analyses related exchange rate, monetary and fiscal policy.
more...less...
Publisher:
International Monetary Fund (IMF)

Main Users:
Economics and Political Economy

Contents
* Economic Indicators
: Exchange rates, Interest rates, Reserves, Prices and Production, Trade of Goods, Gross Domestic product (GDP)
* World Consumer Prices
* World Export Unit values/Export Prices
* World Exports, f.o.b.
* World Foreign Exchange
* World Gold
* World gross Domestic Product, Real
* World Import Unit values/Import Prices
* World Imports, c.i.f.
* World Reserve position in the Fund
* World SDR Holdings
* World Total Fund Credit & Loans Outstanding
* World Total reserves
* World Total Reserves minus Gold

Data Format:
RTF, Excel, and PDF
OECD iLibrary
OECD iLibrary is one of the most comprehensive online resources on the world economy, society, and environment. It contains all books and working papers published by OECD since 1998, as well as a vast of collection of statistics, with data going back to the early 1960s and more than 80 countries covered. UM users only.
more...less...
Publisher:
Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD)

Main Users:
Academics who are interested in the world economic, social, educational, en environmental issues such as agriculture and food, development, economics, education, employment, energy, environment, finance and investment, governance, industry and services, nuclear energy, science and technology, social issues, migration and health, taxation, trade, transport, and urban, rural, and regional development.

Contents

* Databases : OECD.Stat includes data and metadata for OECD countries and selected non-member economies. OECD.Stat enables users to search for and extract data from across many databases under different themes such as agriculture and fisheries, development, economic projections, education and training, energy, environment, finance, globalisation, health, national accounts, productivity, regional statistics, social and welfare, etc.

* Key Tables : The key tables by country statistical profiles include a wide range of indicators on economy, education, energy, environment, foreign aid, health, information and communication, labour, migration, R&D, trade and society. Historical data refer to the latest eight time periods.

Data Format:
WEB, PDF, and excel(XLS)
The citation tool is compatible with popular bibliographical reference software such as Endnote, RefManager, Procite and Refworks.
UN Data
Statistics produced by countries and compiled by the United Nations data system, as well as estimates and projections. Covers agriculture, education, energy, industry, labour, national accounts, population and tourism and more.
more...less...
Even though UNdata contains some trade data, it is not replacing COMTRADE. COMTRADE is a very comprehensive database for merchandise statistics containing around 1.5 billion trade records in 7 classifications up to 6 digit level of the Classification. UNdata contains only around 40 million trade records only in 2 digit HS 1992 classification and searchable only by reporters.

User Guides

International Country Risk Guide (ICRG)
The list of UN Data
Statistics produced by countries and compiled by the United Nations data system, as well as estimates and projections. Covers agriculture, education, energy, industry, labor, national accounts, population and tourism and more.
IMF Data: How to get time-series data
Updated July 2012.

Statistics produced by countries and compiled by the United Nations data system, as well as estimates and projections. Covers agriculture, education, energy, industry, labor, national accounts, population and tourism and more.

For more details, please see the attached PDF file.

Last Updated: Nov 13, 2024 1:18 PM

Subjects: General Information Sources, Government, Politics & Law, How-to, Social Sciences

Tags: clarklibrary, data, government, statistics