Finding Statistics and Data Sets

Online access to public opinion data from the US Daily Poll, Gallup Social Series and Gallup World Poll data

Compilation of questions and responses from more than 18,000 national, state, local and special surveys from over 1700 polling organizations.

Presidential approval data back to Franklin Roosevelt

Primary source for public opinion on elections, political participation, characteristics of voters, and for whom they voted, 1948-2016. It also provides summary data on social, economic, partisanship, and public opinion, 1948 to present.

The GSS contains a standard 'core' of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions, plus topics of special interest. Many of the core questions have remained unchanged since 1972 to facilitate time-trend studies as well as replication of earlier findings.

An independent, nonpartisan research project that measures the social, political, and economic atmosphere in Africa.

Data available for download. Surveys run by LAPOP, a survey research lab at Vanderbilt University

Data available to download. Covers Algeria, Bahrain, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Palestine, Saudi Arabia, Sudan, Tunisia, Yemen

Users must apply individually with Asian Barometer to get access to data. Provides public opinion survey data on political values, democracy, and governance around the region. The regional network encompasses research teams from 13 East Asian political systems (Japan, Mongolia, South Koreas, Taiwan, Hong Kong, China, the Philippines, Thailand, Vietnam, Cambodia, Singapore, Indonesia, and Malaysia), and 5 South Asian countries (India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, and Nepal).

Survey Wave 11 (2022). A survey of respondents who are of voting age (18+) in Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan and Turkmenistan.

Data available from ICPSR. Starting in 1970 and covers European Union countries

Data available for download. Covers 18 countries in Latin America

Includes Harris Polls, the National Network of State Polls, some polls from Spain and Latin America, the Odum Institute's own Carolina Polls and Southern Focus Polls, and others.

Social science data archive, specializing in public opinion surveys. The data range from the 1930s, when survey research was in its infancy, to the present. Most of the data are from the United States, but over 50 nations represented. 1930s on.

Includes indexes of polls from government and private sources. Select "Find a Table," click on "Subject List" and enter "public opinion" for suggested search terms. 1974-

Privately-owned Gallup Organization (www.gallup.com), has been conducting public opinion polls since 1935. Do a subject search in iPoll (see below).

The Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research maintains the world's largest archive of computerized, numeric social science data. Topics covered include demography, economics, health care, politics, social behavior, public opinion.

Annual publication providing statistics, polls, and opinion survey data conducted in 68 countries. Includes single-nation and multinational surveys; indexes by topic and countries, along with bibliography of sources. Grad Lib Ref HM261.A1 I56. 1978-1999.

"NES conducts national surveys of the American electorate in presidential and midterm election years and carries out research and development work through pilot studies in odd-numbered years." 1948-

Journal articles, books, government docs, reports, nternational agency publications, etc. concerning public affairs worldwide. Search for "public opinion and [topic]" or "foreign public opinion and [topic]" for international polls. 1972-

Polls from over 36 sources, including Gallup, Harris, Pew Research, and media orgs. Recent polls listed on homepage; to browse by topic, use links for Politics and Policy, Business/Economy, or The American Scene on the left. Some info only for subscribers

Covering 1981 to 2000, this is an annual, two-volume publication that indexes surveys and opinion polls from more than 250 polling sources. The full text available on microfiche, Grad Serials/Microform MICRO-F X423. Graduate Library Reference HM 261 .A46