Research Guides: Finding Statistics and Data Sets: Finding Data by Topic

Economic/Labor Statistics

The United States government produces a large amount of data. A list of agencies that compile statistics can be found here

Bureau of Economic Analysis(BEA)
BEA is U.S. economic accounts database of the bureau of economic analysis, U.S. Department of Commerce. It provides GDP by state and metropolitan area.

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Provides easy access to demographic information about the United States, from 1790 to present. Create maps and reports.

FRED Economic Data
FRED Economic data provides comprehensive economic data, including banking & finance, population, employment, labor market, national accounts, production & business activity, prices, international data, U.S. regional data, and academic data. This database is governed by the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Loius.
Sage Data
Provides access to statistical information produced by U.S. Federal agencies, private companies, and intergovernmental organizations. Create maps and reports from data you select from over 640 datasets. Subjects include health, crime, population, finance, industry, and marketing.
ProQuest Statistical Insight
Formerly called LexisNexis Statistical, ProQuest Statistical Insight indexes and abstracts federal statistical publications since 1974, business and state government publications since 1980, and international agency publications since 1983. Provides links to full text of 15% of federal publications.

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Provides easy access to demographic information about the United States, from 1790 to present. Create maps and reports.
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
Allows you to create thematic maps and reports using demographic, business and marketing data.

AHRQ Data Sources & Surveys
Data sources from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality - including the National Healthcare Disparities Report and data from the Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUPnet).

PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
A US-National web-based Geographic Information System used to understand communities, for those who need to visualize large amounts of data quickly and easily, often down to the census tract or block group level.

MI School Data - Data and Insights for Policymakers
Get data by school or district. Data on test scores, enrollment, percentage of economically disadvantaged students and students with disabilities
National Center for Education Statistics
Provides national education statistical data. Includes information on elementary and secondary school education, college and advanced degree programs.
Statistics page from the Education Research Guide