Political Science

Find political science data, articles, encyclopedias, handbooks and information about quantitative and qualitative research methods along with information on writing dissertations, publishing, and non-traditional research methods like digital scholarship

Some Books about Non-Traditional Research Methods

Digital Methods for Social Science by Helene Snee (Editor); Christine Hine (Editor); Yvette Morey (Editor); Steven Roberts (Editor); Hayley Watson (Editor)
Call Number: Hatcher Graduate H61 .D546 2016

ISBN: 9781137453655

Publication Date: 2016-03-29
The SAGE Handbook of Online Research Methods by Nigel Fielding; Raymond M. Lee (Editor); Grant Blank (Editor)
ISBN: 9781412922937

Publication Date: 2008-07-15
Text Mining: a guidebook for the social sciences by Gabriel (Gabe) Ignatow; Rada F. Mihalcea
Call Number: Hatcher Graduate H61.3 .I395 2017

ISBN: 9781483369341

Publication Date: 2016-05-25
What Is Online Research? by Tristram Hooley; Jane Wellens; John Marriott; Bloomsbury Publishing Staff
Call Number: Hatcher Graduate ZA4228 .H66 2012

ISBN: 9781849665247

Publication Date: 2011-12-06
A Guide to Conducting Online Research by Anthony E. Schreiner; Ted Gaiser; Ted J. Gaiser
ISBN: 9781412922906

Publication Date: 2009-04-01
Digital Ethnography by Sarah Pink; Heather Horst; Jo Tacchi; Larissa Hjorth; John Postill; Tania Lewis
Call Number: Hatcher Graduate GN307.8 .D754 2016

ISBN: 9781473902381

Publication Date: 2015-11-04
Video As Method by Anne M. Harris
Call Number: Hatcher Graduate H62.2 .H38 2016

ISBN: 9780190222079

Publication Date: 2016-02-18

Accessing Social Media Content

See the Social Media Research Guide for data sources and information on social media research methods

Accessing News Content for Text Mining

Nexis Uni
Many newspapers go back to 1980s. It's easy to export up to 1000 articles to Google Drive or Dropbox

Find More Newspapers from the News Research Guide
Find sources for historical, international and local news

Finding Government Information for Text Analysis

GovInfo Bulk Data Repository
Bulk data from the US Government Publishing Office. Includes xml files on bills, Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, United States Government Manual, House Rules and Manual, Public and Private Laws, Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States, Supreme Court Decisions, Statutes at Large,

HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust contains hundreds of thousands of scanned US federal government documents. Also, the HathiTrust Research Center would be a good resource for large-scale analysis of government documents

Finding Spatial Data

See the Geospatial Data Research Guide for finding geospatial data.

Contact the Clark Library at clarklibrary@umich.edu for help finding and using geospatial data.

Some Books about Web Scraping

Automated Data Collection with R: a practical guide to Web scraping and text mining by Simon Munzert; Christian Rubba; Peter Meißner; Dominic Nyhuis
ISBN: 9781118834787

Publication Date: 2014-10-24
Web Scraping with Python by Ryan Mitchell
ISBN: 9781491910290

Publication Date: 2015-07-24

Learn new programs

Introducing Python by Bill Lubanovic
ISBN: 9781449359362

Publication Date: 2014-12-04
Learning R by Richard Cotton
ISBN: 9781449357191

Publication Date: 2013-09-09

O'Reilly Safari Learning Platform: Academic Edition
Online access to 40,000+ technical books, videos, tutorials, case studies, etc. from O'Reilly, Pearson, and other publishers.

Support for Data Visualization

The Library offers support for data visualization at the Clark Library, Digital Media Commons, and Taubman Health Sciences Library. See the Library Data Visualization webpage for more information.

Support for GIS

The Library's Spatial and Numeric Data Services (SAND) provides support for GIS at the Clark Library and SAND North in the Art and Architecture Building.

The Guide to ArcGIS resources on campus provides information on how to find for-credit courses, open workshops and online modules on ArcGIS